☰ Menu
Cleveland Browns

Brian Hoyer to become 12th QB to start regular-season opener for Browns since 1999

By Nate Ulrich Published: August 20, 2014

The Browns have had 20 starting quarterbacks since their expansion era began in 1999. Brian Hoyer is on the verge of becoming the 12th one to start a regular-season opener during the same span. On Wednesday morning, the Browns named Hoyer their Week 1 starter over rookie Johnny Manziel for Sept. 7 at Pittsburgh.

Below is a list of Browns starting quarterbacks in regular-season openers during the franchise's expansion era.

1999: Ty Detmer

2000: Tim Couch

2001: Tim Couch

2002: Kelly Holcomb

2003: Kelly Holcomb

2004: Jeff Garcia

2005: Trent Dilfer

2006: Charlie Frye

2007: Charlie Frye

2008: Derek Anderson

2009: Brady Quinn

2010: Jake Delhomme

2011: Colt McCoy

2012: Brandon Weeden

2013: Brandon Weeden

2014: Brian Hoyer (scheduled to start Sept. 7 at Pittsburgh)

Poll: Do you agree with Brian Hoyer being named starting quarterback over Johnny Manziel

Show result


  • Main Blog Promo
  • Cavs Blog Promo
  • Browns Blog Promo
  • Indians Blog Promo
  • Beer Blog Promo
  • Fracking Blog Promo
  • High School Blog Promo
  • Zips Blog Promo
  • Akron Dish Food Blog
Prev Next

Browns news, features and notes