☰ Menu
Cleveland Browns

Five Browns players named All Pro: Josh Gordon, Joe Thomas, Alex Mack, Joe Haden, T.J. Ward

By Nate Ulrich Published: January 3, 2014

Two Browns players – wide receiver Josh Gordon and left offensive tackle Joe Thomas – were selected first-team All Pro.

A national panel of 50 media members voted for the Associated Press 2013 NFL All-Pro team, and the results were unveiled today.

The Browns also had center Alex Mack, cornerback Joe Haden and strong safety T.J. Ward named second-team All Pro.

So the Browns had five players voted to the Pro Bowl and five players voted All Pro (two first team and three second team) despite finishing the 2013 season with a record of 4-12 and a seven-game losing streak that cost coach Rob Chudzinski his job after less than a full year at the helm.

Gordon, Thomas, Mack and Haden were named to the Pro Bowl last month. Ward was picked as a Pro Bowl alternate. Tight end Jordan Cameron is the only Browns players selected to the 2014 Pro Bowl who was not recognized as a member of the All-Pro team.

Thomas, a seven-time Pro Bowl selection, is the only player in the group who had previously been named All Pro. It’s the fourth time he has been voted first-team All Pro. He also has made the second team twice.

Of the Browns’ five All-Pro players, two are scheduled to become unrestricted free agents on March 11, Mack and Ward.

Below are the All-Pro rosters.


Quarterback: Peyton Manning, Denver.

Running Backs: LeSean McCoy, Philadelphia; Jamaal Charles, Kansas City.

Fullback: Mike Tolbert, Carolina.

Tight End: Jimmy Graham, New Orleans.

Wide Receivers: Calvin Johnson, Detroit; Josh Gordon, Cleveland.

Tackles: Joe Thomas, Cleveland; Jason Peters, Philadelphia.

Guards: Louis Vasquez, Denver; Evan Mathis, Philadelphia.

Center: Ryan Kalil, Carolina.

Placekicker: Justin Tucker, Baltimore.

Kick Returner: Cordarrelle Patterson, Minnesota.


Ends: J.J. Watt, Houston; Robert Quinn, St. Louis.

Tackles: Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay; Ndamukong Suh, Detroit.

Outside Linebackers: Robert Mathis, Indianapolis; Lavonte David, Tampa Bay.

Inside Linebacker: Luke Kuechly, Carolina; NaVorro Bowman, San Francisco.

Cornerbacks: Richard Sherman, Seattle; Patrick Peterson, Arizona.

Safeties: Earl Thomas, Seattle; Eric Berry, Kansas City.

Punter: Johnny Hekker, St. Louis.



Quarterback: None.

Running Backs: Adrian Peterson, Minnesota; Eddie Lacy, Green Bay.

Fullback: Marcel Reece, Oakland.

Tight End: Vernon Davis, San Francisco.

Wide Receivers: A.J. Green, Cincinnati; Demaryius Thomas, Denver, and Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh.

Tackles: Tyron Smith, Dallas; Joe Staley, San Francisco.

Guards: Jahri Evans, New Orleans; Logan Mankins, New England, and Josh Sitton, Green Bay.

Center: Alex Mack, Cleveland.

Placekicker: Matt Prater, Denver.

Kick Returner: Dexter McCluster, Kansas City.


Ends: Mario Williams, Buffalo; Greg Hardy, Carolina.

Tackles: Dontari Poe, Kansas City; Muhammad Wilkerson, New York Jets, Jurrell Casey, Tennessee, and Justin Smith, San Francisco.

Outside Linebackers: Tamba Hali, Kansas City; Ahmad Brooks, San Francisco.

Inside Linebackers: Vontaze Burfict, Cincinnati; Karlos Dansby, Arizona.

Cornerbacks: Aqib Talib, New England; Joe Haden, Cleveland, and Alterraun Verner, Tennessee.

Safeties: Eric Weddle, San Diego; Kam Chancellor, Seattle, Jairus Byrd, Buffalo, T.J. Ward, Cleveland, Devin McCourty, New England, and Antrel Rolle, New York Giants.

Punter: Brandon Fields, Miami.


Prev Next

Browns news, features and notes