☰ Menu
Cleveland Cavaliers

Jamison named finalist for NBA Sportsmanship Award

By Jason Lloyd Published: April 16, 2012

Antawn Jamison was named a finalist for the NBA's Sportsmanship Award as voted on by a panel of five former NBA players.

Each team nominates a player for the award and Jamison was selected as the Central Division winner. A league winner from the six division finalists will be announced after the season.

Jamison is second on the team in both scoring (17.9) and rebounding (6.4). He has been the vocal leader in the Cavs' locker room the last two seasons.

Other division winners were Dallas' Jason Kidd, the Los Angeles Clippers' Chris Paul, Miami's Shane Battier, Minnesota's Luke Ridnour and New York's Jeremy Lin. Winners were selected by former NBA players Greg Anthony, John Crotty, Antonio Davis, Eddie Johnson and Kenny Smith.

The award, named after former Detroit Pistons great Joe Dumars, reflects the ideals of sportsmanship -- ethical behavior, fair play and integrity.

Former Cavs point guard Terrell Brandon was the award's second recipient in 1997. He is the only Cavalier to win the league award.


Cleveland Cavaliers Archives


Prev Next