☰ Menu
Cleveland Indians

Captains wrap up MWL title, Clippers looking to win Triple-A title tonight

By sstorm Published: September 21, 2010

The Indians were the only Major League organization to have two full-season affiliates win league titles in 2010 in low Class-A Lake County and Triple-A Columbus.

First, the Lake County Captains defeated the Clinton LumberKings 3-1 Monday night to claim the Midwest League Championship.

Lake County won the five-game series three-games-to-two in recording its first championship in franchise history in their inaugural season in the MWL. Lake County spent the previous seven seasons in the South Atlantic League.

With Monday's game tied 1-1 through five innings, Captains SS Casey Frawley delivered an RBI-single in the sixth that put the squad ahead for good. LHP and starter Giovanni Soto (acquired in the trade that sent Tribe 3B Jhonny Peralta to Detroit) did not factor in the decision despite limiting the LumberKings to a run on three hits over 5 2/3 innings while striking out nine batters. RHP and closer Preston Guilmet notched his fifth save of the postseason with three hitless frames while striking out five along the way.

Tonight, the Indians Triple-A affiliate Columbus Clippers (winners of the International League title) travel to Oklahoma City for the Triple-A Championship, where they will face the Pacific Coast League champion Tacoma Rainiers at Bricktown Ballpark at 8 pm. LHP David Huff is slated to make the start for Columbus.

The Clippers were crowned the International League Champions with a 13-2 win over the Durham Bulls Friday, claiming their first Governor's Cup since 1996 and first for a AAA-affiliate of the Indians since 2004 (as the Buffalo Bisons).

Recently called up from Akron, DH Jason Kipnis went 4-for-6 with three runs scored to become the first Clippers to hit for the cycle in five years. Kipnis, who split the regular season between high Class-A Kinston and Double-A Akron, hit a solo home run in the second inning, a single in the third, a double in the fifth and added a triple in the sixth inning.

In addition to Kipnis' exploits, LF Jerad Head was a perfect 4-for-4 with two doubles and two RBI.

RHP and starter Paolo Espino earned the win in limiting the Bulls to two runs while scattering nine hits. Reliwevers and LHP Aaron Laffey and RHP's Zach Putnam and Vinnie Pestano each threw scoreless innings to secure the win.


Prev Next

Indians news, features and notes