☰ Menu
Cleveland Indians

Francona finalist for AL Manager of Year Award

By Sheldon Ocker Published: November 5, 2013

Indians skipper Terry Francona is one of three finalists for American League Manager of the Year, an annual award given by the Baseball Writers Association of America.

The announcement was made tonight on the MLB Network.

In his first year as Tribe manager, Francona led the club to 92 wins, an improvement of 24 over 2012.

The other two AL finalists for Manager of the Year are John Farrell, who piloted the Red Sox to the Eastern Division championship in his first year as the club’s skipper.

Bob Melvin, who led the small market Athletics to their second consecutive Western Division title, is the third finalist for AL Manager of the Year honors.

Announcement of the winners of all the Baseball Writers Association of America awards will be made next week on the MLB network.

Rookie of the Year honors will be featured Monday night, top managers will be announced Tuesday night, followed by the Cy Young winners on Wednesday and MVP winners on Thursday night. Each broadcast will begin at 6 p.m.


Prev Next

Indians news, features and notes