☰ Menu
Cleveland Indians

Indians manager Terry Francona wins AL Manager of the Year

By Ryan Lewis Published: November 12, 2013

Indians manager Terry Francona was named American League Manager of the Year by the Baseball Writers Association of America on Tuesday.

Francona received 16 first-place votes, 10 second-place votes and two third-place votes, edging out Boston Red Sox manager John Farrell, who had 12 first-place votes, 10 second-place votes and six third-place votes.

In his first season as manager, the Indians saw a 24-win turnaround from 2012 and hosted a playoff game as the AL’s No. 1 wild card.

Francona becomes the second Indians manager to win the award after Eric Wedge did so in 2007. The Indians hadn’t been to the post season since.

“This is an organizational award,” Francona said from his home in Tucson, Ariz. “I’m honored to get it, but this is a huge organizational award. That’s what makes me so happy. … That we did it together.” 


  • Main Blog Promo
  • Cavs Blog Promo
  • Browns Blog Promo
  • Indians Blog Promo
  • Beer Blog Promo
  • Fracking Blog Promo
  • Entertainment Blog Promo
  • High School Blog Promo
  • Zips Blog Promo
  • Akron Dish Food Blog
Prev Next

Indians news, features and notes