☰ Menu
Cleveland Indians

Indians vs. Padres: Pregame lineup, notes and cuts

By Marla Ridenour Published: March 12, 2014

The Indians made their first roster reduction of the spring.

Optioned to Triple-A Columbus were right-hander Austin Adams, left-hander T.J. House, infielders Jesus Aguilar and Jose Ramirez and outfielder Carlos Moncrief.

Optioned to Class A-Carolina was infielder Erik Gonzalez.

Reassigned to minor league camp were infielders Francisco Lindor and Joey Wendle, catchers Jake Lowery and Roberto Perez, outfielder Tyler Naquin and catcher/infielder Tony Wolters.

Asked if anyone jumped out at him, Indians manager Terry Francona said, "I think the best way to put it is our group of young players jumped out at us. I don’t know if I want to say it’s rare, but I think we’re very fortunate to have a core group of young players who are so professional and respectful.

"This is kind of how we envisioned it when we brought them to major league camp. To a kid, they were respectful, they played hard, they learned, they asked questions. It went just like we wanted it to. Every one of those kids who were in camp will be better off for it."

Asked what he told the team at their daily meeting, Francona said, "Now there’s a group of guys in here that are competing and the anxiety builds. I get that and I told them that. As a staff we’ll be really conscientious. We want to see the best out of everybody."

The cuts leave the major league roster at 53 players.

Outfielder David Murphy returns to the lineup after spending a couple days at designated hitter because of a sore elbow, that Francona considered normal for spring training.

"He’s doing really well, he’s playing today," Francona said. "We DH’ed him a couple days to get his at-bats on schedule. He would have played through it. I don’t think there’s a reason to do that right now. With ‘B’ games, DH’ing, we can get guys at-bats."

Game: 4:05 p.m. at Goodyear Ballpark

PADRES (5-6-3)

Chris Denofria RF

Rey Fuentes CF

Tommy Medica LF

Xavier Nady 1B

Alex Dickerson DH

Alex Castellanos 2B

Ryan Jackson SS

Rene Rivera C

Alberto Gonzalez 3B

Tyson Ross P

INDIANS (10-2-1)

Elliot Johnson 2B

Nick Swisher 1B

Asdrubal Cabrera SS

Carlos Santana 3B

Lonnie Chisenhall DH

Yan Gomes C

David Murphy RF

Mike Aviles LF

Nyjer Morgan CF

Cory Kluber P

Scheduled to follow Kluber: John Axford, Marc Rzepczynski, Josh Outman, C.C. Lee, Frank Herrmann


  • Main Blog Promo
  • Cavs Blog Promo
  • Browns Blog Promo
  • Indians Blog Promo
  • Beer Blog Promo
  • Fracking Blog Promo
  • High School Blog Promo
  • Zips Blog Promo
  • Akron Dish Food Blog
Prev Next

Indians news, features and notes