☰ Menu
Cleveland Indians

Phelps, Perez, Henry organizational award winners

By Sheldon Published: September 26, 2010

CLEVELAND: Every year, the Indians pay a cash award to three minor leaguers who stand out in three non-traditional offensive categories.

The purpose of the awards is to stress the importance of patience at the plate and pitch recognition.

In the category of on base percentage, the 2010 winner is outfielder Jordan Henry, who posted a .411 on-base percentage at Kinston and Akron. Henry batted .333 in 42 games at Kinston before being promoted to Akron, where he batted .300 in 74 games. Henry was a seventh-round pick in the 2009 draft.

Winner in the walk category is catcher Roberto Perez, who led the farm system with 17.2 percent of his plate appearances culminating in walks.
Perez was seventh in the Midwest League with 80 walks playing at Lake County. He batted .218 in 118 games. Perez was the Tribe's 33rd round selection in the 2008 draft.

Cord Phelps led the farm system with 42 percent of his at-bats ending in hard-hit balls. Phelps started the season with the Aeros and batted .296 with eight doubles, two triples and two home runs in 43 games. After being promoted to Columbus, he batted .317 with 20 doubles, four triples and six home runs in 66 games.

Phelps was a third-round choice in the 2008 draft.

The Tribe has consummated a minor-league trade, acquiring from the Dodgers the son of Don Mattingly in exchange for outfielder Roman Pena. Preston Mattingly, an outfielder, batted a combined .218 in 49 games with the rookie level Arizona Dodgers and the low Class A Inland Empire. Mattingly was the 31st overall pick in the 2006 draft. Pena batted .148 in 21 games at Kinston.


Prev Next

Indians news, features and notes