☰ Menu
Ohio Utica Shale

Ohio energy scholarship winners

By Bob Downing Published: August 29, 2012

From the Granville-based Ohio Oil and gas Energy Education Program:


Granville, Ohio. As growth continues in the exploration, drilling and production of Ohio’s natural gas and crude oil industry, so does the need to provide scholarship opportunities to students who are seeking energy careers. The Ohio Oil and Gas Energy Education Program (OOGEEP) and the Ohio Oil and Gas Energy Education Foundation (Foundation) has awarded thirty-five scholarships to well qualified and highly motivated students.

The members of the OOGEEP and Foundation’s Scholarship Committee consists of industry leaders, and judge the students on career goals, an essay, letters of recommendation, academic achievement, awards or special recognitions, community service and other outside activities. The applicants must also be an Ohio resident or planning to attend an Ohio college, university or vocational school.

The Petroleum Engineering Program at Marietta College, one of the oldest in the country, continues to lead in scholarship recipients with awards to the following Ohio students: Chelsea Almady, North Olmsted; Matt Boothe, Dublin; Jacob Double, Marietta; Hannah Duncan, Norwalk; John Fryman, Little Hocking; Sarah Gallahan, Peru; Aleisha Guiler, Lower Salem; Matthew Johnson, Cambridge; Darin Morgenstern, Whipple; Ellen Schott, Caldwell; Mark Torres, North Aurora; Joel Anderson, Dayton; Kelsey Kallenborn, Marshallville; Jeffrey Lucas, Ironton; Jacob Markiewicz, Marietta; John Moore, Fleming; Trever Pontius, Salesville; Kaitlin Pottmeyer, Fleming; Taylor Pottmeyer, Marietta; Simon Sanders, Cleveland; Nicole Schaly, Ashland; Dakota West, Dennison; and Zachary Zody, Wooster.

Kent State University had several recipients including: Brianna Vayner, Lake Milton, (Geoscience); Nathan Haas, Alliance, (Geology); and Erica Schubert, New Philadelphia, (Geology). Other new scholarship winners included: Marcy Angelo, Hubbard, (Geology), Youngstown State University; Derek Craig, Fairfield, (Petroleum Engineering), West Virginia University; Phillip Dunning, Westerville, (Civil Engineering/ Geology), The Ohio State University; Kimberly Landreth, Brunswick, (Geology), University of Akron; Jeffery Schallick, Columbiana, (Chemical Engineering), University of Pittsburgh; Emily Zabasnik, Minerva, (Environmental Science), University of Mount Union; and Joseph Zollars, Killbuck, (Natural Gas Technology), Zane State College.

For the first time in the scholarship program’s history, the Committee also awarded scholarships at the technical level and awarded welding scholarships to: Joshua Honaker, Lewisburg, and Cory Sestak, Perrysburg, to attend the Hobart Institute of Welding Technology.

“Advances in technology and energy demand drive our need to encourage more students to pursue careers in Ohio’s natural gas and crude oil industry,” states Scholarship Committee Chairman Frank Gonzalez.

OOGEEP Executive Director, Rhonda Reda, adds “OOGEEP’s economic impact study, released last fall, estimates that over 200,000 jobs will be needed in this local industry by 2015. Now is the time to train and prepare our workforce to help develop, produce and supply Ohio’s future energy resources. Supporting and rewarding these outstanding students is a great start.”

The 2012 Scholarships were primarily funded through special industry training proceeds, memorial contributions and general donations from Ohio’s natural gas and crude oil industry.



See the most recent drilling report and an injection wells map From
  • Main Blog Promo
  • Cavs Blog Promo
  • Browns Blog Promo
  • Indians Blog Promo
  • Beer Blog Promo
  • Fracking Blog Promo
  • High School Blog Promo
  • Zips Blog Promo
  • Akron Dish Food Blog
Prev Next

Utica and Marcellus shale web sites

Ohio Department of Natural Resources' Division of Oil and Gas Resources Management State agency Web site.

ODNR Division of Oil and Gas Resources Management. State drilling permits. List is updated weekly.

ODNR Division of Geological Survey.

Ohio Environmental Protection Agency.

Ohio State University Extension.

Ohio Farm Bureau.

Ohio Oil and Gas Association, a Granville-based group that represents 1,500 Ohio energy-related companies.

Ohio Oil & Gas Energy Education Program.

Energy In Depth, a trade group.

Marcellus and Utica Shale Resource Center by Ohio law firm Bricker & Eckler.

Utica Shale, a compilation of Utica shale activities.

Landman Report Card, a site that looks at companies involved in gas and oil leases.FracFocus, a compilation of chemicals used in fracking individual wells as reported voluntarily by some drillers.

Chesapeake Energy Corp,the Oklahoma-based firm is the No. 1 driller in Ohio.

Rig Count Interactive Map by Baker Hughes, an energy services company.

Shale Sheet Fracking, a Youngstown Vindicator blog.

National Geographic's The Great Shale Rush.

The Ohio Environmental Council, a statewide eco-group based in Columbus.

Buckeye Forest Council.

Earthjustice, a national eco-group.

Stop Fracking Ohio.

People's Oil and Gas Collaborative-Ohio, a grass-roots group in Northeast Ohio.

Concerned Citizens of Medina County, a grass-roots group.

No Frack Ohio, a Columbus-based grass-roots group.

Fracking: Gas Drilling's Environmental Threat by ProPublica, an online journalism site.

Penn State Marcellus Center.

Pipeline, blog from Pittsburgh Post-Gazette on Marcellus shale drilling.

Allegheny Front, environmental public radio for Western Pennsylvania.