☰ Menu

Akron's new write-in board member won't know until Wednesday

By John Published: November 8, 2011

Ron Koehler, Summit County elections board director, told me this afternoon that the election officials will not count write-in candidates until Wednesday morning.

At least one of these five write-in candidates will be on the Akron School Board next year: Patrick L. Bravo; Robert Roe Fox; John David Goode; Gary Hagen; or Cheryl Jean Shavers.

Koehler said that the machines will record a write-in vote and a total tally of all write-in votes will be available online tonight. But the machines don't record the names. Humans have to do that and that will happen Wednesday morning.

Only approved write-in candidates will be counted, so suppoters of incumbent Amy Grom who write in her name will be voting in protest only. Grom came up a few valid signatures short of the 300 she needed to be on the ballot.

That left incumbent president Curtis T. Walker Sr. and challenger Tim Miller as the only names on the ballot for three open positions (James Hardy withdrew to run for Akron City Council, but he lost the primary).

Three write-in blanks appeared on the ballot.

Supporters of write-in candidate Patrick Bravo made it easy to remember his name in the polling booth. They handed out pens with his name on it.

Voters will be able to choose write-in candidates in about 273 out 475 precincts in Summit County, according to Koehler.

Meanwhile, I'll be updating the First Bell blog (plus Facebook and Tweet updates) on school issues and candidates as they come in tonight.



  • Main Blog Promo
  • Cavs Blog Promo
  • Browns Blog Promo
  • Indians Blog Promo
  • Beer Blog Promo
  • Fracking Blog Promo
  • Entertainment Blog Promo
  • High School Blog Promo
  • Zips Blog Promo
  • Akron Dish Food Blog
Prev Next