☰ Menu

Akron to receive $6.6 million to pay teachers

By John Published: August 31, 2010

State Rep. Stephen Dyer announced this afternoon  the list of area districts that will benefit from $26 billion in new spending passed earlier this month to prevent layoffs. $10 billion of that was set aside for teachers.

Ohio stands to receive $361,179,690 of that $10 billion. Akron will get about $6.6 million "for salaries and benefits for hiring, rehiring, retaining teachers and others supporting the daily education of Ohio's students. "

Press release and list of area school districts and charter schools getting help after the break: 


Rep. Dyer Applauds Action to Secure Federal Funds to Rehire, Retrain Teachers

Federal funds will keep teachers in the classroom, retain education positions that support students

 COLUMBUS- State Rep. Stephen Dyer (D-Green) this afternoon applauded the announcement that Ohio will be receiving federal resources to rehire, retrain and create teacher positions as well as other school building-related service jobs.

''This latest announcement, coupled with efforts to secure Race to the Top grants is a clear indication that education is a priority for Governor Strickland and his administration,'' Rep. Dyer said. ''Because of the changes in the state education funding formula we made in House Bill 1, the money we stand to receive will be distributed fairly and equitably around the state to ensure students across the state benefit from having top-notch teachers in the classroom.''

 According to the U.S. Department of Education, Ohio will be joining the 20 states that have submitted applications for the federal Education Jobs Program. Ohio will be utilizing the state's primary funding formula, which includes the Ohio Evidence-Based Model, as the method for allocating funds to community schools and school districts. This is the same method used to distribute State Fiscal Stabilization Funds for Education provided to states as a part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009.

 The Strickland Administration will be submitting its application to the U.S. Department of Education soon, and funds will be awarded to the state approximately two weeks after an approvable application is submitted. Ohio stands to receive $361,179,690 from this $10 billion national investment in education. Akron area schools would receive funding under the program to keep teachers in the classroom and retain other education positions that support student growth. The local school districts and the amount they stand to receive are as follows:

Aurora City Portage 198,280

Crestwood Local Portage 608,019

Falcon Academy of Creative Art Portage 20,605

Field Local Portage 329,108

James A. Garfield Local Portage 349,557

Kent City Portage 761,909

Kent Digital Academy Portage 8,411

Ravenna City Portage 650,982

Rootstown Local Portage 235,111

Southeast Local Portage 555,350

Streetsboro City Portage 183,508

Waterloo Local Portage 303,353

Windham Ex Vil S.D Portage 291,248

Akron City Summit 6 ,657,728

Akron Digital Academy Summit 268,406

Akros Middle School Summit 13,948

Barberton City Summit 987,338

Copley?Fairlawn City Summit 61,590

Coventry Local Summit 410,259

Cuyahoga Falls City Summit 591,099

Edge Academy, The Summit 111,501

Green Local Summit 557,509

GSCELC Summit 8,641

Hope Academy Brown St Campus Summit 103,885

Hope Academy University Summit 153,827

Hudson City Summit 620,120

Leadership Academy of Ohio Summit 31,700

Life Skills Center of North Ak Summit 65,832

Life Skills Ctr Of Akron Summit 77,863

Life Skills Ctr Of Summit Co Summit 77,529

Lighthouse Academy Summit 43,211

Manchester Local Summit 283,805

Mogadore Local Summit 182,244

Nordonia Hills City Summit 245,691

Norton City Summit 488,953

Revere Local Summit 99,405

Romig Road Community School Summit 209,051

Schnee Summit 65,148

Springfield Local Summit 399,997

Stow?Munroe Falls City Summit 802,868

Summit Academy Second Akron Summit 45,112

Summit Academy Transition High Summit 43,988

Summit Academy??Akron Summit 106,653

Summit Academy??Akron M S Summit 40,248

Summit Acdy Transition High Da Summit 41,791

Tallmadge City Summit 349,173

Twinsburg City Summit 213,240

Woodridge Local Summit 45,297

Alliance City Stark 893,665

Canton City Stark 3 ,481,152

Canton Local Stark 453,948

Fairless Local Stark 440,417

Jackson Local Stark 256,710

Lake Local Stark 742,487

Life Skills Center Canton Stark 76,770

Louisville City Stark 771,838

Marlington Local Stark 524,525

Massillon City Stark 1 ,098,372

Massillon Digital Academy, Inc Stark 28,430

Minerva Local Stark 512,631

North Canton City Stark 724,365

Northwest Local Stark 496,910

Osnaburg Local Stark 209,964

Perry Local Stark 833,592

Pinnacle Academy Stark 31,700

Plain Local Stark 824,220

Project Rebuild Community Stark 31,337

Sandy Valley Local Stark 442,709

Summit Academy Second Canton Stark 54,229

Summit Academy?Canton Stark 87,713

Tuslaw Local Stark 320,155

Black River Local Medina 375,603

Brunswick City Medina 1 ,136,745

Buckeye Local Medina 239,217

Cloverleaf Local Medina 496,857

Highland Local Medina 227,660

Medina City Medina 846,816

Wadsworth City Medina 801,327

Chippewa Local Wayne 259,139

Dalton Local Wayne 170,179

Greene Local Wayne 296,841

North Central Local Wayne 315,742

Northwestern Local Wayne 391,764

Orrville City Wayne 292,445

Rittman Academy Wayne 13,544

Rittman Ex Vil S.D Wayne 241,530

Southeast Local Wayne 264,969

Triway Local Wayne 403,097

Wooster City Wayne 374,480

Local schools have the ability to decide for themselves when the resources are used as long as the funds are budgeted for by September 2012. The federal law specifies that the money be used for salaries and benefits for hiring, rehiring, retaining teachers and others supporting the daily education of Ohio's students.



Prev Next