☰ Menu


By admin Published: July 24, 2011

From the Beacon Journal's celebrations column, these education kudos:

Babcock & Wilcox in Barberton selected four children of employees to receive $1,500 scholarships for up to four years. Recipients are Barberton High graduate Gina Brescilli, daughter of Perry Brescilli, a B&W project engineer; Barberton High graduate Brandon James, son of Theresa James, a B&W purchasing assistant; Lake High graduate Jeff Kikel Jr., son of Jeff Kikel, B&W quality management and welding engineering manager; and Westlake High graduate Andrew Zheng, son of Ruyu Zhang, a lead research engineer.

Richard L. Drake, director of anatomy and professor of surgery at Case Western Reserve University, was named to the board of trustees for the University of Mount Union. He is a 1972 graduate of Mount Union.

Brian Radesic, associate director of the University of Akron's nurse anesthesia program, was named 2011 Clinical Instructor of the Year by the American Association of Nurse Anesthetists. Last year, UA nursing graduates who took the National Certification Examination had a 100 percent, first-time pass rate, compared to the national rate of 85.3 percent.

Jack L. Noble of Uniontown received the Samuel Krugliak Legal Student Scholarship from the law firm of Krugliak, Wilkins, Griffiths & Dougherty Co. of Canton. Noble graduated from the University of Akron with a bachelor's and master's degrees in civil engineering and an MBA. He is attending the UA School of Law, where he has received the Professor Dana F. Castle Award for Excellence and the CALI – Excellence for the Future Award.

Kent State University senior Frank Yonkof of Seville received a Google scholarship and will go to Boston this fall with 19 other students for the 2011 Online News Association conference. Yonkof is a newspaper journalism major and is editor of

The National First Ladies Library in Canton selected three students for $1,000 scholarships to the college of their choice: Caitlyn Duckworth of Louisville, who will attend Miami University; Sarah Weeks of Canton, Kent State; and Molly Craig of Canton, Otterbein University.

Six Barberton Four City Compact students placed first in the regional and state? SkillsUSA competition and qualified for the National? SkillsUSA competition in Kansas City, Mo. In the national event, Chelsea Kennedy, Katelyn Osborne and Erika Anderson placed first in a nursing competition and Kalie Bowman, Carol Williams and Jillian Zupancic placed ninth in the cosmetology competition.

One of the $1,000 National Multiple Sclerosis Society Scholarships for 2011 was awarded to Jennifer Nguyen of Akron, who graduated from Ellet High School. Jennifer, daughter of Janae Nguyen, is studying computer information technology at the University of Akron. .

A sixth-grade student in Akron won Time Warner Cable's Coolest Creations contest. Noah Carillon was recognized for his invention, the Water Dog, which helps people with back problems when filling their pet's water bowl. He receives a $1,000 U.S. Savings Bond for winning. He attends the National Inventors Hall of Fame School.

The Canton Lehman High School Alumni Association selected 50 students for $500 scholarships. Winners were Samuel J. Antonacci, Greer M. Bailey, Rebecca M. Belding, Amanda J. Belding, Brittany L. Beuter, Andrew C. Bolender, Jessica R. Both, Claire E. Campbell, Selina A. Clubbs, Amelia M. Conradi, Nicholas C. Drake, Louis C. Duplain III, Laura E. Ebel, Jacob P. Ebel, Caitlin E. Handly, Dean J. Horton, Mark J. Horton and Darcie V. Ilg.

Also, Jessie J. Ilg, Kylie L. Klass, Taylor N. Klingaman, Colleen M. Korte, Leslie L. Kramer, Kelly A. Lamiell, Amy J. Leidig, Janelle R. Linder, Colin M. Lux, Natalie M. Maier, Emma E. McAfee, Alexandra G. McInturf, Garrett M. Miller, Andrew R. Motz, Bradley J. Myser, Kathryn J. Myser, Alanna M. Rapp, Amanda K. Rearick, Matthew B. Rehfus, Nicholas J. Rockwood, Christina S. Roe, Morgan L. Sherer, Margaret K. Shimko, Patrick R. Simon, Haley A. Smith, Daniel P. Strancar, Karyann L. Streator, Katherine M. Sweitzer, Jessica M. Taylor, Joseph S. Westlake, Thomas A. Winkhart and Kaitlin A. Yingling.

The Beacon Journal welcomes news about military, community and student achievement. Send information to staff writer Carol Biliczky at or fax it to 330-996-3729.



Prev Next