☰ Menu


By admin Published: November 6, 2011


The Canton Lehman High Alumni Association selected its 11th annual class of Distinguished Alumni. David Horton, Class of 1969, was selected in the category of arts and entertainment; Robert Fleischer, Class of 1959, athletics; Dan Finn, Class of 1974, business; Tom Pieper, Class of 1960, civic/community; Kent Smith, Class of 1959, coach/administrator/teacher; Elaine Esber Elias, Class of 1957, medical; James Casper, Class of 1949, education; and Corinne Esber Mahshie, Class of 1956, service to the alma mater. Alumni association president is Larry Taylor.

Maureen Pisanick, nutrition director and dietician for Hudson City Schools, was among those honored by the White House for meeting the criteria for the Healthier U.S. School Challenge of 2011. Evamere, Ellsworth Hill and McDowell Elementary schools were among more than 1,600 nationwide to receive the Healthier U.S. School Challenge Award.

Sydney Lakos of Brimfield Township, a senior nursing student at the University of Toledo, was elected to the board of directors for the Ohio Nursing Students Association. She is a 2008 graduate of Archbishop Hoban High School.

The Beacon Journal welcomes announcements about school, community and military news. Submit news to staff writer Carol Biliczky at or by fax at 330-996-3033.



Prev Next