☰ Menu


By admin Published: November 13, 2011


Geraldine Hayes-Nelson, executive director of program and community outreach for Kent State, was named the 2011 TRIO Achiever by the Mid-America Association of Educational Opportunity Program Personnel, which hosts federally funded programs for first-generation, low-income and physically challenged students. Nelson benefitted from a federally funded program for students with disadvantaged backgrounds.

Kent State honored six educators for their achievements in the classroom at the 18th annual Celebrating College Teaching conference last month. The three tenured faculty members who received Distinguished Teaching Awards from the Alumni Association were George Garrison, professor of pan-African studies; Gary Hanson, professor of journalism and mass communication; and Susan Taft, associate professor of nursing. The three nontenure-track faculty who received Outstanding Teaching Awards were Paula Dancie, lecturer in fashion design and merchandising; David Dumpe, assistant professor of finance; and Richard Stanislaw, assistant professor of political science.

The University of Akron Research Foundation named Aigbe Akhigbe, acting chair, professor of finance and the Frederick E. Moyer Chair of Finance, and Shi-Qing Wang, professor of polymer science, this year's Outstanding Researcher Awards. They were selected by a committee of former recipients and each will receive $2,000.

The Christian Century's fall book issue selected a book by Jennifer Graber, an assistant professor of religious studies at the College of Wooster, as one of the top five books about American religion published this year. Her book on the role of religion in America's prison system is The Furnace of Affliction: Prisons and Religion in Antebellum America. The College of Wooster's Charles Hurst, professor of sociology emeritus, and David McConnell, professor of anthropology, received the Dale W. Brown Book Award for An Amish Paradox: Diversity and Change in the World's Largest Amish Community.


The American Red Cross of Summit and Portage Counties selected Mark and Sandy Auburn of Fairlawn to receive the H. Peter Burg Community Leadership Award for their commitment to the Greater Akron community. The couple will receive the award in March.

Submit news items about community, education and military achievements to staff writer Carol Biliczky at or fax them to 330-996-3033.



Prev Next