☰ Menu


By admin Published: January 1, 2012


The Entertainment Software Association Foundation selected Emily Russo of Uniontown for a $3,000 scholarship at Kent State. She is one of 30 female and minority students across the nation who received awards for the 2011-12 school year. She is pursuing a career in computer and video game development.

Bethany McFarland of Cuyahoga Falls was inducted into the Gold Key Circle chapter of Omicron Delta Kappa, the National Leadership Honorary, at Marietta College. She is a graduate of Firestone High School in Akron.

Alamgir Karim, Goodyear chair in polymer engineering at the University of Akron, and Chrys Wesdemiotis, distinguished professor of chemistry, were elected as fellows in the American Association for the Advancement of Science. They will be honored at an induction ceremony Feb. 12 in British Columbia.

Gov. John Kasich appointed J. David Heller of Moreland Hills to the board of trustees for the Northeast Ohio Medical University in Rootstown Township. He is co-founder and principal of the NRP Group, a developer, general contractor and property management company.

Many Akron-area students received scholarships for the 2011-12 academic year through the Ohio Foundation of Independent Colleges. Recipients were Darnell Woods, Lauren Ash and Travis Nevels, Medina; Jaclyn Stanziano, Gwendolyn Barnhart, Hannah Speckhart, Amanda White and Megan Holly, Spencer; Joseph Hayek, Anthony Gentile and Dawn Conrad, Brunswick; Jared Martin, Hinckley; Caitlin Powell, Wadsworth; Alexandria Waters, Valley City; Stephen Fejedelem, Amanda Levaskevich and Caitlin Fortson, Ravenna; Emma Cummins, Reminderville; Elishah Wilthew, Garrettsville; Ashley Bault, Atwater; Erikka Coontz, Diamond; Hannah Macintyre, Hiram; Nicholas Samples, Jacob Arnold, Karuna Ramcharran, Amanda Zamary and Katherine Mozingo, Stow; Dylan Beam, Matthew Jordan, Derek Anders, Sarah Rogers and Elizabeth Tackett, Barberton; Rebecca Beckwith, LaShelle Davis-Ivery, Juliann Lawrence, Samantha Hyde, Erin McMahon, Meagan McMahon, Lucia Neugebauer, Sarah Loar, Calysia Smyers, Caitlin Urdiales, Rebecca Curry, Alex Richter, Lauren Hunt, Krista Drillien, Courtney Palmer, Hannah Daneshvar, Alexander Feiss, Hayden Gilbert, Philip Lutz, David Esakov, Kevin McIntyre, Jennifer Parsons, Amanda Cox, Janet Reymann, Hanna Gabriel, Renee Hennemann, Evan Robinson, Ashley Stopka, Melissa Marmaduke, Elizabeth Rittenour, Ellis Thompson, Mark Lazcano, Megan Nall and Raymond Davis, Akron;

Kory Clark, Danielle Howard and Nicholas Oleski, Macedonia; Caroline Bach and Roxanne Long, Copley; Bethany Lawrence, Allison St. John, Lindsay Hanz and Hannah Price, Hudson;

Rhiannon Thomas, Shannon Govern, Matthew Lowe, Preeti Rao, Katherine Hanneman, Michael Prendergast, Joshua Edmonds, Lauren Macer, Kaleigh Stanley, Japji Dhaliwal and Nina Jacobs, Twinsburg; Kara Marang and Giovanni Ozbolt, Norton; Joel Ashley, Northfield; Brandon Oliger and Krista Kunkle, Clinton; Caleb Lemmo and Kelsey Holderbaum, Mogadore;

Morgan Korinek, Lawrence Mcelrath and Sarah Waibel, Cuyahoga Falls; Patrick Kilway and Sarah Buehler, Tallmadge; Tyler Tesny, Munroe Falls; Samantha Kachele, Peninsula; Lillian Evans and Desire'e Greer, Fairlawn; Brittany Kilgore, Northfield; Rachel Kent, Boston Heights; Jared Baisden, Xiaojun Huang, Samuel Sifferlin, Ellen Clevenger, Sarah Huttie, Andrew Young and McKenna Burkholder, Wooster; Jonner Reed, Burbank; Jenna Hilty and Marcus Hartzier,? Orrville; Jeremy Oller, Creston; and Andrea Masters, Dalton.


Howard Call of Stow was named Executive of the Year by the Federation of State and Provincial Fair Associations. He is executive director of the Ohio Fair Managers Association.

Debra Adams Simmons, editor of the Plain Dealer in Cleveland, is the 2012 winner of the Robert G. McGruder Award for Diversity from the School of Journalism and Mass Communication at Kent State University. The award is named for a 1963 graduate of Kent State, the first black editor of the Daily Kent Stater student newspaper and a strong proponent for diversity.



  • Main Blog Promo
  • Cavs Blog Promo
  • Browns Blog Promo
  • Indians Blog Promo
  • Beer Blog Promo
  • Fracking Blog Promo
  • High School Blog Promo
  • Zips Blog Promo
  • Akron Dish Food Blog
Prev Next