☰ Menu


By admin Published: February 12, 2012


Several Akron-area students received scholarships to attend Xavier University in Cincinnati. They were: Allison Weiss, daughter of Barbara and Kenneth Weiss of Stow; Abigail Libby, daughter of Lorelei and Michael Libby of Stow; Melissa Yakubik, daughter of Sara and John Yakubik of Akron; Savannah Kuzak, daughter of Lindsay Bachman and Donald Kuzak of Uniontown; and Maria Libertin, daughter of Colette and the late Nick Libertin of Uniontown.

State Rep. Christina Hagan, R-Alliance, announced these winners of the House District 50 essay contest. Stark County students wrote one-page essays about how to make their community a better place to live. The first-place award went to Heather Bomba of Massillon; the second-place award, to Emily Caldwell of Canal Fulton; and the third-place award , to Crystal Constable of Massillon.

David Mohan, dean of Kent State's Geauga campus and regional academic center in Twinsburg, received the university's 2012 Diversity Trailblazer Award, which recognizes staffers for significant contributions to diversity.

Rhyne F. Ladrach of Orrville has become a member of Sigma Alpha Lamba, the national leadership and honors organization at the University of Akron.

Kent State fashion merchandising senior Kate Ruque of Mentor was one of four students nationwide to win a $30,000 Geoffrey Beene National Scholarship Award from the YMA Fashion Scholarship Fund.


Navy Seaman Apprentice Cody Dallas, son of Angela L. and Frank Dallas of Uniontown, completed U.S. Navy basic training at Recruit Training Command, Great Lakes, Ill. He is a 2009 graduate of Green High in Uniontown.

Send notices of military, academic or community news to Carol Biliczky at or fax them to 330-996-3033.


The Employee Foundation Council at Akron Children's Hospital presented Patricia O'Desky of Bath Township with its Distinguished Service Award for 2011. O'Desky has served as executive assistant to hospital President William Considine since 1979. She joined the emergency and admitting departments more than 41 years ago.



Prev Next