☰ Menu


By admin Published: March 11, 2012


Kim Peer, an athletic training education program coordinator and associate professor of health sciences at Kent State University, was named to the Ohio Athletic Trainers' Association Hall of Fame. ?Marisa Lolli, a senior at Lake Center Christian School, won second place in prose/poetry at the State Speech and Debate Tournament. She competed against students from 85 Ohio districts on March 3-4 at Jackson High School. She is the daughter of Robert and Janice Lolli.

Two juniors at Marquette University were inducted into the international Jesuit honor society Alpha Sigma Nu: Madeline Bok of Akron, who is majoring in advertising, and Kara Chiuchiarelli of Hinckley, who is majoring in journalism and writing-intensive English.

Teachers Elaine Fippin of Our Lady of the Elms High School in Akron and Tom Mosberger of GlenOak High School in Canton were named to the Hall of Fame for the Ohio High School Speech League.

John Rudisill, an associate professor of philosophy at the College of Wooster, won the 2012 Lenssen Prize from the American Association of Philosophy Teachers for the best research article about teaching and learning philosophy in the last two years. His paper, The Transition From Studying Philosophy to Doing Philosophy, was published in the September 2011 issue of Teaching Philosophy.

The Canton/Stark County chapter of Soroptimist International selected four women for scholarships. Shelby Logan of Canton is the high school recipient of the Violet Richardson Award, which recognizes teen women volunteers in their communities or schools. Chrystal Carpenter of Massillon received the Women's Opportunity Award; Walsh University senior Alissa Brooks, the Virginia Wagner Award for academic achievement; and Dana Cole of Austintown, the Anna Faulkner Award for being the primary caretaker of her family enrolled in a degree-granting program.

Malone University Chaplain L. Randall Heckert received the 2012 Dana Walling Award for Excellence in Campus Ministry from the Council for Christian Colleges and Universities. Heckert has been at the private Christian college since 1997 and before that served churches and was a chaplain for the U.S. Army.

Barberton High School has selected four alumni to induct into its Academic Hall of Fame for their accomplishments. They are Susan Gormley Harrington of Milledgeville, Ga., Class of 1970, author and retired professor at Georgia State University and Macon State College; Erin E. Irish of Iowa City, Iowa, Class of 1976, associate professor of biology at the University of Iowa; Sue Logsdon of Omaha, Neb., Class of 1990, administrator for the University of Nebraska Medical Center; and Samuel J. Reynolds of Akron, Class of 1965, superintendent of Manchester Local Schools.


Air Force Airman Devin A. Bauer, son of Andrew Bauer of Copley, graduated from basic training at Lackland Air Force Base in San Antonio. He is a 2008 graduate of Copley High School.

Navy Hospitalman David G. Loyer, son of Stephanie M. Elias of Wadsworth and David F. Loyer of Barberton, completed U.S. Navy basic training at Recruit Training Command, Great Lakes, Ill. He is a 2005 graduate of Barberton High School.

Send announcements of academic, military or community accomplishments to Carol Biliczky at or fax them to 330-996-3033.



Prev Next