☰ Menu


By admin Published: March 18, 2012


Joshua Woolls,an international business major at the University of Akron, won the $2,000 top prize at the 2011-12 World Collegiate Sales Open at Northern Illinois University. The competition is designed to mimic real-world activities that a sales representative would need to master, which may not be part of the college curriculum. Woolls expects to graduate this year from UA.

Archbishop Hoban High School in Akron was second in the State Mock Trial Championship sponsored by the Ohio Center for Law-Related Education. The competition simulates a trial in which student teams compete about law, court procedures and the judicial system. Thirty-one teams competed at the state level. Participating Hoban students were Katie Caprez, Connor Lynch, Kelli Tomin, Katie Frego, Ryan Kupcik, Kristen Brennan, Abbey Dankoff and Ana Horattas. Hoban was the state champion last year.

Matthew Regula, executive chef for dining services at the University of Akron, won the silver medal at the Culinary Challenge Competition sponsored by the Midwest Regional Conference of the National Association of College and University Food Service. Nine chefs took part in the competition.

Four female students were chosen as the inaugural Clare Boothe Luce Research Scholars at the College of Wooster. Lauren Fleming, a sophomore chemistry major; Tricia Hall, a sophomore geology major; Rachelle Herrin, a freshman biochemistry and molecular biology major; and Andrea Steiger, a sophomore chemistry and environmental studies double major, were selected for their academic credentials and their desire to pursue research with the faculty. Each student will receive two years of funding to pay for transportation to conferences and research expenses.

The Aurora Schools Foundation selected three residents as Friends of the Schools Roy Shafer, Mike Hillyer Jr. and Ann Morrison. They will be honored at the foundation's 13th annual banquet May 5.

Ashland University junior Bethany Horrell of Canal Fulton received the J.M. Smucker Co. Scholarship for this academic year. Horrell, a 2009 graduate of Northwest High School, is the daughter of John and Christina Horrell and is studying business administration.

Six Akron-area students were inducted into the Honor Society at Heidelberg University: Maxwell Danko of Doylestown, Sarah Loar of Akron, Cory Martinson of Brunswick, Logan Weiland of Valley City, Katherine Robbie of Stow and Gary Sefton of Akron. Students must be seniors with grade points of 3.5 or better to qualify for the honor.


Dylan R. Corradino, son of Tammy Jenkins-Carr and Shaun Corradino, both of Cuyahoga Falls, graduated from Air Force basic training at Lackland Air Force Base and Technical School at Sheppard Air Force Base. He is a 2011 graduate of Cuyahoga Falls High School.

Send announcements of school, community and military achievements to or fax them to 330-996-3033.



Prev Next