☰ Menu

Celebrations: Dec. 26

By admin Published: December 27, 2011


Gov. John Kasich appointed Paul R. Bishop of Canton to a nine-year term on the board of trustees for the Northeast Ohio Medical University. Bishop is chairman and chief executive of H-P Products and of Engineered Tube Bends. He replaces Judith Barnes Lancaster, whose term on the medical school board has expired.

Divinity student Lance Jones of Akron received a scholarship to United Theological Seminary in Dayton for 2011-12.

Jerika Gilcreast, a senior at Ashland University, helped lead the Campus Activities Board to receive the Programming Organization of the Year regional award from the National Association for the Campus Activities. Gilcreast, daughter of Felicia Campbell of Barberton, is majoring in social work at Ashland.

Two University of Akron faculty members were elected as fellows to the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Alamgir Karim, Goodyear chair in polymer engineering, is viewed as a national expert in nanotechnology. Chrys Wesdemiotis, a professor of chemistry, is pioneering a study of polymers.

Yebo Li, a biosystems engineer with the Ohio Agricultural Research and Development Center in Wooster, has received Ohio State's Early Career Innovator of the Year Award for his work on the development and commercialization of bio-based energy and industrial products. He is an assistant professor in the department of food, agricultural and biological engineering.

Two faculty members at the University of Akron received Outstanding Researcher Awards from the University of Akron Research Foundation. Aigbe Akhigbe, a professor of finance, and Shi-Qing Wang, a professor of polymer science, were selected by former recipients. Each will receive $2,000 for research funding and as personal honor­ariums.


Air Force Reserve Airman Daniel P. Brown, son of Steven Brown of Akron and Marianne Brown of Cuyahoga Falls, graduated from basic training at Lackland Air Force Base in San Antonio, Texas. He is a 2003 graduate of Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy and a 2005 graduate of the University of Akron.


State Highway Patrolman Nickolas B. Goodnite was named the 2011 Trooper of the Year at the Canton post, which he joined in 2007.

Hartville resident Ryan Cain, a member of the Civil Air Patrol's Youngstown ARS Composite Squadron, has received the Amelia Earhart Award for excellence and has been promoted to cadet captain. The Civil Air Patrol, the official auxiliary of the U.S. Air Force, has 61,000 members nationwide.

To submit community, education or military news for publication, email Carol Biliczky at or fax her at 330-996-3033.



Prev Next