☰ Menu

Celebrations March 25

By admin Published: March 24, 2012


A Wadsworth sixth-grader has been selected as an author for the 28th annual Columbus Children’s Theatre Child Writing Project, Color a Story. The work by Carter Kelly, a student at Central Intermediate, was one of 17 selected from nearly 1,600 submissions for this year’s production.

Tallmadge High School senior Alexandra James received the $2,000 Mary M. Hoffman Scholarship from St. Mark Lutheran Church in Tallmadge. James plans to attend Ohio State University in the fall.

Susan Louscher, executive director of strategic partnerships and government programs at the University of Akron, received a Readers’ Choice Corrosion Innovation of the Year Award from Materials Performance magazine. Louscher developed Corr-, which combines corrosion courseware, videos and interactive simulators in an online resource center. Kendra Preer, director of the Upward Bound Math- Science Academy at Stark State College, received the 2012 Outstanding Dissertation Award from the National Association of Diversity Officers in Higher Education. Preer’s dissertation, Interracial Diversity at Historically Black Colleges and Universities: Understanding African-American Student Perceptions, was completed for her doctoral studies at Jackson State University.

Olivia Riffle of Hudson was selected for Phi Beta Kappa at Washington and Lee University. She is a senior.

David James Michael Esber of Akron was among 26 seniors at Colgate University selected for membership in the university’s Konosioni Senior Honor Society. He is the son of David Esber and Cindy Esber. Every year, the graduating seniors choose the next 13 men and 13 women student leaders to be inducted into the organization.

The Beacon Journal welcomes news of education, community and military achievement. Email notices to Carol Biliczky at or fax them to 330-996-3033.



Prev Next