☰ Menu

Local semifinalists named for National Achievement Scholarships

By John Published: September 28, 2011

 Stephanie Hopper of Firestone High School in Akron; Benjamin Pykare of Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy in Cuyahoga Falls;  David Hill of Western Reserve Academy in Hudson; Jordon Canedy of Buckeye High School (Medina County);  Joy Sobowale of Jackson High School (Stark County) ;  Hannah Christ of Hoover High School in North Canton;  and Olivia Phillips of Crestwood High School in Mantua are among the Ohio semifinalists for the Nationl Achievement Scholarship.

More than 1,600 Black American high school seniors who have been designated Semifinalists in the 48th annual National Achievement Scholarship Program were announced today by National Merit Scholarship Corporation (nmsc) officials. These scholastically talented young men and women now have an opportunity to continue in the competition for aproximately 800 Achievement Scholarship® awards worth more than $2.4 million to be offered next spring. To be considered for a National Achievement Scholarship, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. About 80 percent of Semifinalists are expected to attain Finalist standing, and more than half of the Finalists will win an Achievement Scholarship award.




Prev Next