☰ Menu
The HeldenFiles Online

Edie Adams Christmas Album To Be Released

By Rich Heldenfels Published: August 6, 2012

Ernie Kovacs is also included. The offiiclal word: Omnivore Recordings announced today the release of The Edie Adams Christmas Album featuring Ernie Kovacs on October 9.

The first-ever Edie Adams ( Christmas album features classic holiday recordings from the early-to-mid-1950s drawn from the Kovacs Unlimited television show. The 15-track album includes extensive liner notes coupled with rare photos from her personal archive and duets with the legendary comedian Ernie Kovacs ( A great surprise from Santa to put under the tree this year! For more information, please visit

Edie Adams was the perfect portrait of the consummate entertainer and if you think she could do anything, you’re right. But one thing that never appeared on her extraordinarily impressive resume, until now, is a holiday album. In association with Ediad Productions, Inc., Omnivore Recordings has pulled together all of Edie Adams’ surviving recordings sourced from acetates made from rare audio air checks of the Kovacs Unlimited. The very existence and archiving of these acetates can be credited to Edie herself as she paid a transcription service to record the audio from the show so she could hear herself singing contemporary pop songs. Now, with personal liner notes by Edie’s son, Josh Mills, recalling the star-studded Hollywood holidays of his youth, we are able to enjoy, for the first time, this beautiful seasonal album by Edie Adams.

“Onmivore Recordings did an amazing job compiling The Edie Adams Christmas Album Featuring Ernie Kovacs” said Josh Mills of Ediad Productions. “Edie Adams never wanted to be known as ‘the widow Kovacs’ and this first release from our extensive archive is just the beginning of a reissue campaign that will showcase just how talented she was in her own right. It’s clear from the fidelity of the audio, the fantastic packaging and the passion that went into its creation that make this release so gratifying.”

Earlier this year, Omnivore Recordings and Ediad Productions, Inc. announced an ongoing agreement to release audio material from the archive of the estates of legendary comedian Ernie Kovacs and Edie Adams. The first album project released was Percy Dovetonsils…Thpeaks, a previously unreleased comedy album featuring Kovacs’ best-known and beloved character originally recorded in 1961. Additional audio-only material from the archive includes a vast, never-before-heard collection of soundtracks from Ernie Kovacs shows of the early 1950s and audio selections from the career of Edie Adams, who was also Kovacs’ wife up until his passing in 1962. Omnivore is currently compiling these recordings for future releases.

Edie Adams did it all – from singing opera to performing in guest spots on much-loved television shows. Her career began when she was named Miss New York Television and Miss U.S. Television in 1950, and went on to star in the “Why-don’t-ya-pick-one-up-and-smoke-it-sometime” Muriel Cigar television commercials from the ’60s through the ’70s. Her ABC music/variety TV show Here’s Edie/The Edie Adams Show garnered four Emmy nominations, and she was a Broadway star as well, earning two Donaldson Awards (Wonderful Town) and a Tony Award (Li’l Abner). Edie not only starred with Ernie Kovacs across multiple television shows on the CBS, NBC, and DuMont networks, she even married him! She appeared and starred in feature films, such as The Apartment, It’s A Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad World, and Lover Come Back, among many, many more. Edie headlined nightclubs in New York, Los Angeles, Las Vegas, Atlantic City, and Lake Tahoe, and recorded albums for MGM, Columbia, and Decca.

The Edie Adams Christmas Album featuring Ernie Kovacs track listing:

1. Santa Claus Is Comin’ To Town (Ernie with Edie & cast)
2. It’s Christmas Time
3. Household/Holiday Blues (Ernie & Edie duet)
4. The Christmas Song (Merry Christmas To You)
5. Silver Bells (Ernie & Edie duet)
6. Blue Christmas
7. Let It Snow! Let It Snow! Let It Snow!
8. I Wonder As I Wander
9. It’s A Marshmallow World
10. White Christmas
11. I’ll Be Home For Christmas
12. Christmas In Killarney
13. Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas
14. Winter Wonderland
15. What Are You Doing New Year’s Eve

* all tracks previously unissued

The HeldenFiles Online Archives




Heldenfels' mailbag

  • Main Blog Promo
  • Cavs Blog Promo
  • Browns Blog Promo
  • Indians Blog Promo
  • Beer Blog Promo
  • Fracking Blog Promo
  • High School Blog Promo
  • Zips Blog Promo
  • Akron Dish Food Blog
Prev Next