☰ Menu
The HeldenFiles Online

NFL Gospel Choir on TV

By admin Published: February 7, 2008

This from Gospel Music Channel:

New York Giants wide receiver David Tyree, whose touchdown catch and spectacular final drive-saving grab helped lead the Giants to victory in Super Bowl XLII, and Super Bowl opponent Benjamin Watson of the New England Patriots, will join forces to make their national television singing debuts this Sunday on the Gospel Music Channel television network as members of the first-ever NFL Players All- Star Choir. The choir's debut was one of the highlights of the Super Bowl Gospel Celebration 2008 concert event, which will world premiere exclusively on Gospel Music Channel this Saturday night, Feb. 9 at 9:00 p.m. (ET/PT). ...

The Super Bowl Gospel Celebration 2008 was recorded live at Symphony Hall in Phoenix, AZ, site of Super Bowl XLII, last Friday, Feb. 1. Tyree and Watson joined players and coaches representing all 32 NFL teams, including All-Pro's Baltimore Ravens Linebacker Ray Lewis and Chicago Bears Defensive tackle Tommie Harris, to form the choir. The choir was lead by gospel legend Donnie McClurkin, who co-hosted the show along with David Mann, aka Mr. Brown from Tyler Perry's House of Payne television series and Perry's movies. Patti Labelle, CeCe Winans, Marvin Winans and Martha Munizzi were among the featured performers of Super Bowl Gospel Celebration 2008, the only gospel event sanctioned by the National Football League for Super Bowl Weekend.

Wal-Mart returns as sponsor of GMC's telecast of Super Bowl Gospel Celebration 2008, which will have numerous encores on GMC, including Sunday, February 10 (10 a.m. and 3 p.m. ET), prior to the NFL Pro Bowl game. (For telecast times, visit

The NFL Players All-Star Choir includes
Mike Adams (Browns)
Josh Brown (Seahawks)
Derrick Brooks (Buccaneers)
Chris Draft (Rams)
George Foster (Lions)
Michael Gaines (Bills)
Roy Manning (Bengals)
Brandon Jones (Titans)
Eddie Kennison (Chiefs)
Ray Lewis (Ravens)
Bryant McKinnie (Vikings)
Ovie Mughelli (Falcons)
Ryan Nece (Buccaneers)
Richard Seymore (Patriots)
Steve Pierce (Browns/Retired)
Gino Mingo (Chiefs)
Tyrone Wheatley (Giants)
Charles Way (Giants)
Gino Mingo (Chiefs/retired)
Frank Sanders (Cardinals)
Willie Whitehead (Giants)
D'Brickashaw Ferguson (Jets)
Eric Henderson (Bengals)
Sidney Justin (Colts)
Leonard Towey Weaver (Seahawks)
Roland Williams (Rams/Retired)
Ty Warren (Patriots)
Marcus Price (Cowboys)
Benjamin Watson (Patriots)
David Tyree (Giants)
Sinorice Moss (Giants
David Merritt (Cardinals)
Darnerian McCants (Falcons)
Joe Jackson (Vikings/Retired)
Dan Carrie (Lions)

The HeldenFiles Online Archives




Heldenfels' mailbag

  • Main Blog Promo
  • Cavs Blog Promo
  • Browns Blog Promo
  • Indians Blog Promo
  • Beer Blog Promo
  • Fracking Blog Promo
  • High School Blog Promo
  • Zips Blog Promo
  • Akron Dish Food Blog
Prev Next