☰ Menu
Kent State Flashes

Kent State completes search committee for new AD

By admin Published: December 10, 2009

Kent State has finalized the 17 people that will make up the search committee to help find the next athletic director at Kent State.

Dave Carducci at the Record Courier has a full story here.

The members are expected to include...

  • Robert "Yank" Heisler, Dean of Kent State’s College of Business Administration and the retired chairman of KeyBank

  • Judy Devine, National Athletic Development Council

  • Curtis Eaton, Student-Athlete Advisory Committee; Track and Field

  • Ronald Fowler, Special Assistant to the President and Consultant to the University

  • George Jenkins, Trustee Emeritus; National Athletic Development Council

  • Jen Kulics, Associate Director of Athletics for Academic Services

  • Daniel Mahony, Dean, College of Education, Health and Human Services

  • Mel Mellis, National Athletic Development Council; Kent State Foundation Board of Directors

  • Molly Merryman, Associate Professor, Justice Studies

  • Catharine Marosszeky, Student-Athlete Advisory Committee; Soccer

  • Herb Page, Director of Golf and Head Coach, Men’s Golf

  • Charlene Reed, Secretary of the Board of Trustees; Chief of Staff to the President

  • David Ruller, City Manager, City of Kent

  • Scott Sherwood, President, Undergraduate Student Government

  • Charles Sinclair, Senior Vice President, Goodyear Tire and Rubber Company

  • Willis Walker, Vice President of Human Resources, Chief University Counsel

  • Kathryn Wilson, Professor, Economics, NCAA Faculty Representative

The Daily Kent Stater Editors are weighing in on what they would like to see in Kent State's next athletic director.

I hope the next athletic director at Kent State understands the comprehensive approach to athletics that Laing Kennedy and his staff have taken.  Kent State's programs have been successful due to the depth and the well rounded culture that is created among Kent State's athletic department.  That is why KSU has held six Jacoby Trophies (1989, 1996, 1997, 1999, 2004 and 2005) and four Reese titles (2000, 2002, 2006 and 2009).  I also hope the new AD has the ability to market the athletic programs to generate more fan interest to the community while also producing a consistent football program that is competing year in and year out for MAC championships.  The student in 'student-athlete' must also continue to be of great importance.


Brian Lainhart and Tyshon Goode were recognized by as part of the site’s 2009 All-Nonautomatic Qualifying Teams, honoring players from the 54 schools that are not members of Bowl Championship Series (BCS) affiliated conferences.

Lainhart was one of 11 defensive players named to the main team, while Goode was a part of the 10-member All-Freshman offensive squad.



  • Main Blog Promo
  • Cavs Blog Promo
  • Browns Blog Promo
  • Indians Blog Promo
  • Beer Blog Promo
  • Fracking Blog Promo
  • High School Blog Promo
  • Zips Blog Promo
  • Akron Dish Food Blog
Prev Next

Recent Stories