All CATEGORIES
☰ Menu
Kent State Flashes

Men's basketball announces schedule

By admin Published: September 24, 2008

The Long awaited men's hoops schedule has finally arrived. I have listed the schedule below with a few notes on a few possible key games. I really didn’t get into the Mid-American Conference schedule much though. Maybe I’ll get to that later.

Mon, Nov 10
Muskinghum (Exhibition) 7:00 pm
Mon, Nov 17
North Carolina Central 7:00 pm
Wed, Nov 19
at Saint Louis 8:00 pm

After an abysmal performance last year at the M.A.C. Center, could Rick Majerus and his team be out for a little revenge?

Sun, Nov 23
UNC Wilmington 2:00 pm

The Seahawks are another mid-major team, like the Flashes, who are constantly nipping at being more than just a mid-major. This game will be no pushover for a team that needs to establish itself in the front court without Mike Scott and Haminn Quiantance.

South Padre Invitational
Fri, Nov 28
Illinois at South Padre Island, Tex. 6:00 pm
Sat, Nov 29
Texas A&M or Tulsa at South Padre Island, Tex. 5:30 pm / 8:30pm

Much like the Chicago Invitational Tournament last year – when the Flashes were tested by RPI helpers Xavier and Illinois State – The South Padre Invitational will provide quality opponents and valuable early season help for a team that needs to prove itself.

Mon, Dec 01
at Kansas (ESPNU) 9:00 pm

What better way to gauge how good your team is? The national champs lost a lot to the NBA, but are still a Jayhawk team. Plus, who wouldn’t want to play in Phog Allen Fieldhouse?

Thu, Dec 04
Saint Mary's 7:00 pm

Last year’s win over St. Mary’s propelled the Flashes into a national ranking for the first time in school history? What will this year’s game, in Kent, mean?

Sat, Dec 06
Western Carolina 7:00 pm
Mon, Dec 15
Youngstown State 7:00 pm
Thu, Dec 18
UNC Greensboro 7:00 pm

The Spartans played second fiddle to Stephen Curry and Davidson in the Southern Conference last year, losing in the title game. Another decent mid-major team that should match well against the Flashes.

Tue, Dec 23
at Cleveland State 7:00 pm

Gary Watters and company turned this program around last year and created an early season buzz. Will this year be the year that the Vikings are established once again?

Sat, Jan 03
At Hampton 6:00 pm
Mon, Jan 05
at Temple TBA
Sun, Jan 11
at Ohio* 2:00 pm
Wed, Jan 14
Bowling Green * 7:00 pm
Sat, Jan 17
Miami * 7:00 pm
Wed, Jan 21
at Buffalo * 7:00 pm
Sat, Jan 24
At Akron * 7:00 pm
Tue, Jan 27
Eastern Michigan * 7:00 pm
Sat, Jan 31
At Western Michigan * 2:00 pm
Tue, Feb 03
Toledo * 7:00 pm
Sat, Feb 07
at Ball State *
Tue, Feb 10
at Northern Illinois * 8:00 pm
Sat, Feb 14
Central Michigan * 7:00 pm
Tue, Feb 17
Ohio * 7:00 pm
Sat, Feb 21
ESPN Bracketbuster TBA
Thu, Feb 26
AT Bowling Green * 7:00 pm
Sun, Mar 01
AT Miami * TBA
Thu, Mar 05
Buffalo * 7:00 pm
Sun, Mar 08
Akron * 2:00 pm
Wed, Mar 11 -
Sat, Mar 14
MAC tournament at Cleveland, Ohio (Quicken Loans Arena)
TBA

While I am talking hoops, I'll take a few minutes and answer a question that reader Bill Palma asked on another post

"Do you think that we will miss "Q" and Mike Scott big time this year?" Palma asked

I think the men's basketball team is going to miss Q and Mike Scott more than many people realize. Both players provided so many intangibles that are not found on the state sheet.

I remember talking to Jim Christian early last season and he told us how there were many defensive breakdowns that Scott saved with this knowledge and positioning. That comes with experience.

I hear some ignorance that a player like Tyree Evans will show up and take this team deep into the NCAA tournament. While I don't argue that he is an impact player, the Flashes need someone up front to do anything.

True freshman Justin Greene has shown quickness and skill, but I hear that he isn't strong enough yet. JUCO transfer Anthony Simpson is supposed to be a legit player down there. Frank Henry-Ala, another JUCO, is more of a guard type from what I understand.

That leaves the Flashes with Julian Sullinger and Brandon Parks as the only two big men on the roster with experience from last year. While some are ready to harp on Parks this off season, I'll take an "I'll believe it when I see it" approach. I do not mean that in a derogatory way to Brandon at all. He has just not proven anything yet.

More on Scott...

I forgot to mention on here that Mike Scott did sign a contract to play basketball in Turkey. Unfortunately he already messed up his pinky finger dunking and had to have surgery.

Mike has always been a class act and a thrill to be around. He is currently doing a lot of video taping of his life across seas to give his friends and family updates, which he is posting on his Facebook profile. I am hoping he will share it with this blog as well. So, I am crossing my fingers on that.

SUBSCRIBE VIA RSS

OHIO.COM VIDEOS

  • Main Blog Promo
  • Cavs Blog Promo
  • Browns Blog Promo
  • Indians Blog Promo
  • Beer Blog Promo
  • Fracking Blog Promo
  • High School Blog Promo
  • Zips Blog Promo
  • Akron Dish Food Blog
Prev Next

Recent Stories