☰ Menu
Ohio Politics

Akron City Council candidates

By admin Published: June 16, 2011

Candidates who filed petitions to run for Akron City Council, listed in alphabetical order. The petitions must be certified by the Summit County elections board. The board has posted the full list of area candidates for the Sept. 13 primary at

Ward 1: Jim Hurley*, Democrat; Mark Lavoie, Republican; Kurtis Liston, Libertarian; Charly Murphy, Republican.

Ward 2: Dominic Basile, Democrat; Bruce Kilby*, Democrat; Joshua Sines, Republican.

Ward 3: David Goode, Democrat; Marco Sommerville*, Democrat.

Ward 4: Russel Neal Jr.*, Democrat.

Ward 5: Ken Jones*, Democrat; Chaneil Peters, Democrat.

Ward 6: David Goodspeed, Republican; Bob Hoch, Democrat; Bob Otterman*, Democrat.

Ward 7: John T. Jones, Republican; Donnie Kammer, Democrat; Tina Merlitti*, Democrat; David Reymann, Democrat; Mayceo Smith II, Democrat.

Ward 8: James Hardy, Democrat; Marilyn Keith, Democrat; Ed Muse, Democrat; David M. Sutter, Republican.

Ward 9: Mike Freeman*, Democrat; Amy Page, Republican.

Ward 10: Laura Asbury, Republican; Garry Moneypenny, Democrat.

Source: Summit County elections board.

(*-Denotes incumbents.)



  • Main Blog Promo
  • Cavs Blog Promo
  • Browns Blog Promo
  • Indians Blog Promo
  • Beer Blog Promo
  • Fracking Blog Promo
  • High School Blog Promo
  • Zips Blog Promo
  • Akron Dish Food Blog
Prev Next