☰ Menu
Ohio Politics

LaRose leads local Republican charge

By admin Published: November 3, 2010

Jim Carney and Bob Downing
Beacon Journal staff writers

Former Green Beret and Iraq War veteran Republican Frank LaRose said Tuesday he is ready to get to work as an Ohio state senator.

LaRose, 31, of Fairlawn, defeated Democrat Frank Comunale in the race for the 27th District seat formerly occupied by Kevin Coughlin.

''If our neighbors hired me [Tuesday], then they hired me to get a job done, and that is to make Ohio prosperous again,'' LaRose said.

The district covers northern and western Summit County.

LaRose's victory was part of a trend of Republican wins.

Three Summit County Democrats in the Ohio House lost re-election bids:

• Stephen Dyer of Green was defeated by New Franklin Councilman Todd McKenney in the 43rd House District. It covers southeastern Summit County and southern Portage County.

• Brian G. Williams of Akron, a three-term incumbent and longtime Akron school official, lost to Republican Lynn Slaby, 71, a retired appeals court judge and former county prosecutor, in the 41st House District. It covers the western section of northern Summit County.

• Mike Moran, a Democrat from Hudson, lost to Republican challenger Kristina Roegner of Hudson in a race that was close all night in the 42nd District. It covers Cuyahoga Falls, Stow, Hudson, Munroe Falls and Silver Lake.

In Stark County, Republican W. Scott Oelslager of Plain Township, who now serves in the House, was leading over Democrat Richard D. Reinbold Jr. of Canton, a retired judge and former criminal prosecutor, in the 29th Senate District. It covers Canton, Massillon, North Canton and Canal Fulton.

Kirk Schuring, a state senator from Jackson Township, was leading in the race for the 51st House District. He was ahead of Democrat Andrew Haines of Canton. The district covers northern Stark County.

In the 44th District, incumbent Vernon Sykes, 59, easily won his third term, defeating Republican Josh Sines, 35, of Akron. The district covers central Akron.

In the 45th District, Democrat Zack Milkovich, 44, of Akron, a contractor and real estate investor, roundly defeated Republican Charles Lasher, 33, of Akron.

Milkovich had defeated incumbent John Otterman in the primary.

The district covers south Akron and parts of southern Summit County.

In the 50th Ohio House District, Republican incumbent Todd Snitchler was leading Stark County Commissioner Todd Bosley, a Democrat from Louisville. The district covers central Stark County.

Incumbent Democrat Stephen Slesnick was ahead of Republican Steve Secrest in the race for the 52nd House District that covers Canton and surrounding townships.

In the 68th House District, Democrat Kathleen Clyde, of Kent, defeated Republican W. Roak Zeller of Kent.

The district covers northern and eastern Portage County.

In the 69th House District, Republican William Batchelder of Medina easily won re-election, defeating Democrat Jack Schira from Brunswick Hills Township.

The district covers much of Medina County.

Jim Carney can be reached at 330-996-3576 or Bob Downing can be reached at 330-996-3745 or



  • Main Blog Promo
  • Cavs Blog Promo
  • Browns Blog Promo
  • Indians Blog Promo
  • Beer Blog Promo
  • Fracking Blog Promo
  • High School Blog Promo
  • Zips Blog Promo
  • Akron Dish Food Blog
Prev Next