☰ Menu
Ohio Politics

Update: Prominent women from Akron area in new Women for Mitt group to be announced Tuesday

By Stephanie Warsmith Published: July 23, 2012

Update: State Rep. Kristina Roegner, R-Hudson, has also joined the Women for Mitt Committee. 

Some familiar names in the Akron-Canton area will be included on the list of Ohio Women for Mitt Committee that Mitt Romney's GOP presidential campaign will announce Tuesday.

The list, provided Monday evening exclusively to the Beacon Journal, includes Lt. Gov. Mary Taylor of Green, Janet Weir Creighton, a Stark County commissioner and former Canton mayor, and Jane Timken, the wife of Timken Chairman W.J. Tim Timken Jr.

Taylor and Tami Longaberger, CEO of the Longaberger Co. will be the co-chairs, while Ohio First Lady Karen Kasich and Jane Portman, the wife of U.S. Sen. Rob Portman, will be honorary co-chairs. Rob Portman is rumored to the on Romney's short list of running mates.

"The women's vote is going to be critical in Governor Romney's campaign to turn our economy around," Jane Portman said in a news release.

The campaign will officially announce the committee during an event at 3 p.m. Tuesday in Columbus.

Others on the committee are: Jo Ann Davidson, former Ohio House speaker; State Rep. Anne Gonzales; Assistant Ohio House Majority Whip Cheryl Grossman; Tillie Hidalgo-Lima, CEO of Best Upon Request; Findlay Mayor Lydia Mihalik; Betty Montgomery, former Ohio attorney general and state auditor; Athens County Auditor Jill Thompson; and Jean Turner, president of the Ohio Federation of Republican Women.



Prev Next