☰ Menu
Sound Check Online

Pretenders album release set for Sept. 23

By malcolm Published: July 24, 2008

Akron homer and Rock Hall inductee Chrissie Hynde and the Pretenders will be releasing a new album called Break Up The Concrete to be released on Tuesday, September 23 through Shangri-La Music

But just as other veteran acts such as the Eagles, Madonna and Earth Wind & Fire, are embracing the future of the music business so are The Pretenders and Shangri-La.


Free music.

From now until the release date, the Pretenders and Shangri-la will be giving away a one song/mp3 download a week through varioius media partners. This week the song is Boots of Chinese Plastic an uptempo rock-a-billy rave up that recalls the sneering attitude of Tattooed Love Boys and is available through AOL's

There are a bunch of other media partners but since you likely don't care with whom they've partnered it's easiest to just go to each week and check out the songs one week at a time.

The album will be the band's first since Loose Screw in 2002. The album was recorded in 10 Days and reportedly a stripped down affair that will remind fans of also finds Hynde working with a brand new group that includes UK guitarist James Walbourne, pedal steel guitarist Eric Heywood, and the rhythm section of bassist Nick Wilkinson and legendary drummer Jim Keltner.

Original drummer Martin Chambers will perform at the next Pretenders show on July 30 in London, according to a spokesperson.¶




  • Main Blog Promo
  • Cavs Blog Promo
  • Browns Blog Promo
  • Indians Blog Promo
  • Beer Blog Promo
  • Fracking Blog Promo
  • High School Blog Promo
  • Zips Blog Promo
  • Akron Dish Food Blog
Prev Next