☰ Menu
Sound Check Online

The Black Keys begin promo push for new album, EL Camino with sneak attacks

By malcolm Published: October 11, 2011

Yeah, if you were perusing the Beacon Journal this weekend you may have come across this "ad" and thought that looks a little fishy.

Well, you were right.
That is not an El Camino but it is a surreptitious ad for the Black Keys album El Camino

If that weren't cheeky enough, fans can call the number at the bottom of the ad for a message from Pat Carney and there's even a web site adding to the promotional tom foolery.

But wait there's more!

There's also a "commercial" for the album that I can't post because star Bob Odenkirk (of Mr. Show and a bunch of other stuff fame) says a few naughty words. but here's the link.

Here's the official word from the desks of Nonesuch Records:

The Black Keys’ new album El Camino will be released December 6 on Nonesuch Records. Produced by Danger Mouse and The Black Keys, the 11-track album was recorded at singer/guitarist Dan Auerbach’s Easy Eye Sound studio in the band’s new hometown of Nashville during the spring of 2011.
In advance of the release, the album’s first single, “Lonely Boy,” will be released on October 26. The complete track list is below; further details will be announced shortly. Pre-orders of El Camino begin today at and and include a download of the single, which will be delivered on October 26.

El Camino follows the most successful two years in The Black Keys’ career. In May 2010 they released their breakthrough album, Brothers, to widespread critical acclaim. Debuting at #2 in the U.S., it went on to win three Grammy Awards and an MTV Video Music Award, and topped numerous year-end lists, including iTunes, NPR, and Rolling Stone. Brothers, which included the hit singles “Tighten Up” and “Howlin’ for You,” has been certified Gold in the U.S. and U.K., and Platinum in Canada. Worldwide sales are now over one million and counting.

Drummer Patrick Carney said of the band’s recent success, “We’ve taken the long road to get where we are. It’s pretty cool to be in your early 30s making music with your best friend. We’ve experienced everything from driving a thousand miles to play for no one to winning Grammys.” Auerbach further describes the band’s dynamic, “We don't talk before we play. We don’t practice before we record, we just fly by the seat of our pants.” He says of El Camino, “I think where this record is going to shine for me is playing the songs live. This record is more straight ahead rock and roll—raw, driving, and back to basics.”

1. Lonely Boy
2. Dead and Gone
3. Gold on the Ceiling
4. Little Black Submarines
5. Money Maker
6. Run Right Back
7. Sister
8. Hell of a Season
9. Stop Stop
10. Nova Baby
11. Mind Eraser

Maybe, they'll really get back to basics and play Akron this time around.....




Prev Next