☰ Menu

Indians news, features and notes






Cleveland Indians

Eastern League realigned

By sstorm Published: December 18, 2009

With a new team in the league came new divisions, as the Double-A Eastern League is now comprised of the Eastern Division and the Western Division with the addition of Richmond (Va.).

The geographic restructuring for the 2010 season became necessary when the Connecticut Defenders left the league and the Richmond Flying Squirrels joined.

The Aeros, three-time E.L. champs since 2003 who have been perennial winners of the Southern Division pennant, are now in the Western Division along with the Altoona Curve, Bowie Baysox, Erie SeaWolves, Harrisburg Senators and Richmond.

The Eastern Division is made up of the Binghamton Mets, New Britain Rock Cats, New Hampshire Fisher Cats, Portland Sea Dogs, Reading Phillies and Trenton Thunder.

The divisional changes do not have any effect on the playoff format for the Eastern League, as the first and second-place teams in each division make the postseason in a best-of-five divisional playoff series. The winners of each of the divisional series then meet in the best-of-five Eastern League Championship Series.

"After a thorough review by the league in which a number of options were taken into consideration, we have come to the conclusion that this divisional alignment will be the best option for the league moving forward,” Eastern League President Joseph McEacharn said in a press release.

Prev Next