☰ Menu
University of Akron Zips blog

Abreu, Marshall, Cvetinovic earn All-MAC honors

By mrasor Published: March 7, 2012

Men's basketball

With any one of its eight rotation players being starter-caliber, Akron should not be surprised that it does not have a First-Team All-MAC player. Having a lot of talent makes it harder for any one player to shine.

However, two Zips (Zeke Marshall and Alex Abreu) were named to the Second Team. Nik Cvetinovic is on the Third Team.

It's hard to argue with the First Team choices:

Mitchell Watt, Buffalo
Javon McCrea, Buffalo
Justin Greene, Kent State
Julian Mavunga, Miami
D.J. Cooper, Ohio

What these lists show is that the MAC was dominated by big men in 2012. You could argue that the top six players in the conference were power forwards or centers.

Women's basketball

Akron plays Northern Illinois today at 2:30 at The Q. The winner plays No. 3 Toledo tomorrow afternoon in the quarterfinals.

University of Akron Zips blog Archives


  • Main Blog Promo
  • Cavs Blog Promo
  • Browns Blog Promo
  • Indians Blog Promo
  • Beer Blog Promo
  • Fracking Blog Promo
  • High School Blog Promo
  • Zips Blog Promo
  • Akron Dish Food Blog
Prev Next


Zips sports news, features and notes