☰ Menu
University of Akron Zips blog

Akron men's soccer adds eight freshmen to 2014 roster

By Michael Beaven Published: February 12, 2014

University of Akron men’s soccer coach Jared Embick announced the addition of eight players to the 2014 roster Wednesday.

The following players will continue their careers with the Zips as freshmen: forwards Stuart Holthusen, Nate Shultz and Anthony Macchione, midfielder Jesse Garcia-Aguilar, defenders Niko De Vera, Ezana Kahsay and Shane Wiedt and goalkeeper Elliott Rubio.

Wiedt is a senior at Archbishop Hoban High School in Akron.

”We are thrilled about the potential of this class,” Embick said in a prepared statement. “We have been thorough in our evaluation and are confident of the contributions they will make immediately and over the course of their careers at Akron. After losing six starters, we needed to bring in a strong class that has the skill and ability to play Akron soccer and I believe we have achieved that. The fall can’t get here soon enough.”

Akron has added 12 players to its roster since the start of the new year. St. John’s transfer Sean Sepe and freshmen Bryce Cregan, Rich Laryea and Nathan Quirk joined the program in January and are enrolled in classes at UA.

Holthusen, a native of Wellington, New Zealand, started three matches for New Zealand at the 2013 Under-17 World Cup.

Garcia-Aguilar, De Vera and Macchione are members of the Portland Timbers Academy, a youth team that is part of the professional club that is coached by Caleb Porter, UA’s coach from 2006-2012.

Shultz and Wiedt each compete for the Cleveland Internationals, a club team that is part of the U.S. Soccer Development Academy. Shultz is a senior at Mayfield.

Kahsay was born in Asmara, Eritrea. He scored 55 goals and had 45 assists as a four-year captain at the International Preparatory School at Grover in Buffalo, N.Y.

Rubio is a product of the Chicago Magic of the U.S. Soccer Federation and has been a captain for four years.

Embick also added some height to the team. Rubio is 6-foot-5, Macchione is 6-3, Kahsay and Wiedt are 6-2 and Cregan, Holthusen and Shultz are each 6-foot tall.

In other team news, Matt Foldesy has transferred to Indiana University and will have two years of eligibility remaining.

UA won the Mid-American Conference regular season and tournament titles last season and finished with a 17-4-1 record during Embick’s first year as coach. The Zips took a 10-match unbeaten streak (9-0-1) into the NCAA Tournament.

2014 Zips Men's Soccer Signing Class
Bryce Cregan, D, 6-0, 145, Dallastown, Pa. (Dallastown Area HS/PA Classics)

Niko De Vera, D, 5-5, 145, Camas, Wash. (Camas HS/Portland Timbers Academy)

Jesse Garcia-Aguilar, MF, 5-6, 145, Portland, Ore. (Century HS/Portland Timbers Academy)

Stuart Holthusen, F, 6-0, 165, Wellington, New Zealand (Wanderers SC)

Ezana Kahsay, D, 6-2, 180, Buffalo, N.Y. (International Preparatory School at Grover)

Rich Laryea, MF, 5-9, 150, Toronto, Ont. (Dante Aligheri Academy/Sigma FC)

Anthony Macchione, F, 6-3, 170, Camas, Wash. (Camas HS/Portland Timbers Academy)

Nathan Quirk, F, 5-10, 155, Liverpool, England (Liverpool FC Academy)

Elliott Rubio, GK, 6-5, 210, Chicago, Ill. (Highland Park HS/Chicago Magic SC)

Sean Sepe, F, 5-11, 150, West Islip, N.Y. (West Islip HS/Commack SC United/St. John's [N.Y.])

Nate Shultz, F, 6-0, 160, Cleveland, Ohio (Mayfield HS/Internationals SC)

Shane Wiedt, D, 6-2, 180, Akron, Ohio (Archbishop Hoban HS/Internationals SC)

By Position

Goalkeeper: 1 (Elliott Rubio)

Defender: 4 (Bryce Cregan, Niko De Vera, Ezana Kahsay, Shane Wiedt)

Midfielder: 2 (Jesse Garcia-Aguilar, Rich Laryea)

Forward: 5 (Stuart Holthusen, Anthony Macchione, Nathan Quirk, Sean Sepe, Nate Shultz)

By State

New York: 2 (Ezana Kahsay, Sean Sepe)Ohio: 2 (Nate Shultz, Shane Wiedt)

Washington: 2 (Niko De Vera, Anthony Macchione)

Illinois:1 (Elliott Rubio)

Oregon: 1 (Jesse Garcia-Aguilar)

Pennsylvania: 1 (Bryce Cregan)

By Country

United States: 9 (Bryce Cregan, Niko De Vera, Jesse Garcia-Aguilar, Ezana Kahsay, Anthony Macchione, Elliott Rubio, Sean Sepe, Nate Shultz, Shane Wiedt)

Canada: 1 (Rich Laryea)

England: 1 (Nathan Quirk)

New Zealand: 1 (Stuart Holthusen)

University of Akron Zips blog Archives


Prev Next


Zips sports news, features and notes