☰ Menu
University of Akron Zips blog

All-MAC Teams announced

By mrasor Published: March 9, 2011

Men's basketball

Nik Cvetinovic earned Second-Team All-MAC honors, the league announced today.

I might have taken Cvetinovic over Julian Mavunga, who earned First-Team honors, but Brandon Bowdry has an even bigger complaint.

Below are the rest of the winners:

All-MAC First Team
Justin Greene, Kent State
Julian Mavunga, Miami
D.J. Cooper, Ohio
Xavier Silas, Northern Illinois
Jarrod Jones, Ball State

All-MAC Second Team
Brandon Bowdry, Eastern Michigan
Nikola Cvetinovic, Akron
Rod Sherman, Kent State
Byron Mulkey, Buffalo
Demetrius Ward, Western Michigan

Honorable Mention
Zach Filzen, Buffalo
Javon McCrea, Buffalo
A'uston Calhoun, Bowling Green
Scott Thomas, Bowling Green
Trey Zeigler, Central Michigan
Jalin Thomas, Central Michigan
Michael Porrini, Kent State
Nick Winbush, Miami
DeVaughn Washington, Ohio
Flenard Whitfield, Western Michigan

All-Freshman Team
Chris Bond, Ball State
Javon McCrea, Buffalo
Trey Zeigler, Central Michigan
Nick Kellogg, Ohio
Juwan Howard Jr., Western Michigan

Women's basketball

The Zips are currently playing in the quarterfinals at The Q. They drew No. 1 seed Toledo. The game starts in the next half-hour.

University of Akron Zips blog Archives


  • Main Blog Promo
  • Cavs Blog Promo
  • Browns Blog Promo
  • Indians Blog Promo
  • Beer Blog Promo
  • Fracking Blog Promo
  • High School Blog Promo
  • Zips Blog Promo
  • Akron Dish Food Blog
Prev Next


Zips sports news, features and notes