☰ Menu
University of Akron Zips blog

Former Akron star DeAndre Yedlin on U.S. preliminary roster for World Cup

By Michael Beaven Published: May 13, 2014

Former University of Akron men’s soccer player DeAndre Yedlin has been selected to the United States 30-man preliminary roster for the 2014 FIFA World Cup.

U.S. soccer announced its selections Monday. A squad of 23 players will be chosen from the 30-man group by June 2 for the final roster that will travel to Brazil.

The 30 players on the preliminary roster will begin reporting to Palo Alto, Calif., on May 14 for the start of training camp at Stanford University.

Yedlin was a two-time All-Mid-American Conference first team honoree with the Zips from 2011-12. He appeared in 45 games – including 41 starts – and finished with 12 assists as a right back. Akron went 33-5-7 overall and 13-0-0 in league play during Yedlin's time and advanced to the NCAA Tournament each season.

Yedlin signed a Homegrown Contract with the Seattle Sounders of Major League Soccer in 2013 following his sophomore year.

The U.S. will play three matches in the Send-Off Series from May 27-June 7 in San Francisco, New York and Jacksonville. The Send-Off Series kicks off with USA vs. Azerbaijan at 10 p.m. on May 27 at Candlestick Park in San Francisco. The USA then hosts Turkey at 2 p.m. on June 1 at Red Bull Arena in Harrison, NJ, before traveling to Jacksonville to face Nigeria at 6 p.m. on June 7 at EverBank Field.

All three Send-Off Series matches will be broadcast live on ESPN2, WatchESPN, UniMas and ESPN Deportes Radio. Fans can also follow the games live on Twitter @ussoccer.


GOALKEEPERS (3): Brad Guzan (Aston Villa), Tim Howard (Everton), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake).

DEFENDERS (11): DaMarcus Beasley (Puebla), Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), John Brooks (Hertha Berlin), Geoff Cameron (Stoke City), Timmy Chandler (Nürnberg), Brad Evans (Seattle Sounders FC), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Clarence Goodson (San Jose Earthquakes), Fabian Johnson (Hoffenheim), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC).

MIDFIELDERS (10): Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Alejandro Bedoya (Nantes), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Joe Corona (Club Tijuana), Brad Davis (Houston Dynamo), Mix Diskerud (Rosenborg), Maurice Edu (Philadelphia Union), Julian Green (Bayern Munich), Jermaine Jones (Besiktas), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City).

FORWARDS (6): Jozy Altidore (Sunderland), Terrence Boyd (Rapid Vienna), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Aron Johannsson (AZ Alkmaar), Chris Wondolowski (San Jose Earthquakes).

University of Akron Zips blog Archives


Prev Next


Zips sports news, features and notes