☰ Menu
University of Akron Zips blog

MAC names Akron's Aodhan Quinn Men's Soccer Player of the Year

By Michael Beaven Published: November 15, 2013

The Mid-American Conference has named University of Akron senior Aodhan Quinn as its Player of the Year for the 2013 men’s soccer season.

The league office announced Friday the All-Conference teams and specialty award winners. Quinn, who is one of 10 Zips to earn all-league honors, becomes the ninth consecutive UA player to receive the league's top honor.

Joining Quinn on the 2013 All-MAC first-team from Akron are senior forwards Reinaldo Brenes and Eric Stevenson, freshmen midfielders Adam Najem and Victor Souto, junior defender Bryan Gallego, senior defender Robbie Derschang, sophomore defender Andrew Souders and freshman goalkeeper Fernando Pina.

Junior defender Saad Abdul-Salaam is an All-MAC second-team selection.

Quinn enters the MAC Tournament tied for second on the team with four goals.
He converted a penalty kick against then-ranked No. 15 Wake Forest on Oct. 15 in a 1-0 win and scored two goals in a 2-1 overtime victory over No. 11 Penn State on Nov. 6.

Quinn also scored the game-winning goal at the College of Charleston in the season opener on Aug. 30.

Quinn is the 11th Zips player to earn MAC Player of the Year since 1993 and follows Scott Caldwell (2012), Darren Mattocks (2011), Darlington Nagbe (2010), Teal Bunbury (2009), Steve Zakuani (2008), Corey Sipos (2007), Sinisa Ubiparipovic (2006) and Ross McKenzie (2005) as the ninth consecutive Zips player to receive the award. Paul Wilkinson (1993) and Michael Apple (1998) were the first two MAC Player of the Year winners from Akron.

Buffalo’s Russell Cicerone was named MAC Newcomer of the Year and Hartwick’s John Scott earned the MAC Coach of the Year honor.

All 24 members of the all-conference team, as well as specialty award winners, were voted on by MAC men’s soccer head coaches.

As the No. 1 seed for the MAC Tournament, Akron will face fourth-seeded West Virginia in the second semifinal match at 7 tonight at FirstEnergy Stadium–Cub Cadet Field. Second-seeded Western Michigan will meet No. 3-seed Hartwick in the first match at 4 p.m.

The winners will advance to the MAC Tournament championship, which kicks off  at 1 p.m. Sunday.

2013 All-MAC First Team
F Reinaldo Brenes, Akron
F Eric Stevenson, Akron
F Andy Bevin, West Virginia
M Adam Najem, Akron
M Aodhan Quinn, Akron
M Victor Souto, Akron
M Russell Cicerone, Buffalo
M Majed Osman, West Virginia
D Bryan Gallego, Akron
D Robbie Derschang, Akron
D Andrew Souders, Akron
GK Fernando Pina, Akron

2013 All-MAC Second Team
F Ryan Comiskey, Bowling Green
F Isaac Kannah, Northern Illinois
F Oliver Mayer, Western Michigan
M Danny Baraldi, Bowling Green
M Brandon Silva, Bowling Green
M Chris Walter, Hartwick
M Marco Lobo, Western Michigan
D Saad Abdul-Salaam, Akron
D Ross MacKinnon, Hartwick
D Matthew Robertson, Hartwick
GK Michael Wiest, Bowling Green
GK Chase Rau, Western Michigan

2013 MAC Player of the Year
Aodhan Quinn, Akron

2013 MAC Newcomer of the Year
Russell Cicerone, Buffalo

2013 "Gary V. Palmisano" Coach of the Year
John Scott, Hartwick

University of Akron Zips blog Archives


Prev Next


Zips sports news, features and notes