☰ Menu
University of Akron Zips blog

Zips track great heads to MAC Hall of Fame

By George Thomas Published: April 18, 2013

From a UA news release:

AKRON, Ohio- Christi Smith, The University of Akron's first individual national champion and female U.S. Olympic Trials qualifier, will be one of seven athletes inducted into the Mid-American Conference Hall of Fame in May, the league office announced Thursday.

Smith is the first athlete - male or female - in school history to earn the prestigious distinction.

Joining Smith in this year's induction class are Dave Keilitz (Central Michigan, baseball), Kim Knuth (Toledo, women's basketball), Bill Mallory (Miami, football), Brad Maynard (Ball State, football), John Offerdahl (Western Michigan, football) and Gary Trent (Ohio, men's basketball).

All seven athletes will be officially inducted at the MAC Honor's Dinner at the Cleveland Renaissance Hotel on May 30. Tickets to the event, which is open to the public, are $65 and can be purchased by calling Julie Kachner from the league office at (216) 566-4622, ext. 311.

University of Akron Zips blog Archives


Prev Next


Zips sports news, features and notes