☰ Menu

72nd annual Touchdown Club Fall Sports Banquet set for Jan. 13

By Michael Beaven Published: January 10, 2014

The 72nd annual Touchdown Club Fall Sports Banquet is set for Jan. 13 at Guys Party Centre, 500 E. Waterloo Rd., Akron, OH 44319.

Ed Kalail said festivities will begin at 6:30 p.m. and over 215 student athletes and coaches will be honored. Tickets are $35 and can be ordered by sending a check to Jill Hanigofsky, 497 Koerber Ave, Akron OH 44314, payable to The Touchdown Club Foundation.

Athletes will be honored in football, volleyball, soccer, cross country, golf and tennis.

The following athletes were selected as Players of the Year:

Football – Dante Booker Jr. of St. Vincent-St. Mary.

Volleyball – Kyra Coundourides of Walsh Jesuit, Krissy Mummey of Hudson and Cortnee Bowser of Kent Roosevelt.

Boys Soccer – Brandon Taylor of Revere.

Girls Soccer – Maddy Anzelc of Walsh Jesuit.

Boys Cross Country – Kyle Mau of Hudson.

Girls Cross Country – Madison Spreitzer of Woodridge.

Boys Golf – Chase Johnson of Walsh Jesuit.

Girls Golf – Kasey Nielsen of Kent Roosevelt.

Girls Tennis Singles – Emily Dunbar of Cloverleaf and Molly Sandberg of Walsh Jesuit.

Girls Tennis Doubles – Emily Hissong and Gina Costanzo of Walsh Jesuit.

The following were selected as Coaches of the Year:

Football – Dan Boarman of St.Vincent-St. Mary.

Volleyball – Jessica Ciborek of Hudson and Tracy Reschke of Kent Roosevelt.

Boys Soccer – Sandor Jakab of Revere.

Girls SoccerDino McIntyre of Walsh Jesuit.

Boys Cross Country – Sarah Kmet of Twinsburg.

Girls Cross Country – Dan Lancianese of St. Vincent-St. Mary.

Boys Golf – Mike Richetto of Walsh Jesuit.

Girls Golf – Bryan Harvey of Kent Roosevelt.



  • Main Blog Promo
  • Cavs Blog Promo
  • Browns Blog Promo
  • Indians Blog Promo
  • Beer Blog Promo
  • Fracking Blog Promo
  • High School Blog Promo
  • Zips Blog Promo
  • Akron Dish Food Blog
Prev Next

High school news, features and notes