☰ Menu

Barberton, Kent Roosevelt & North Royalton set to join Suburban League; other schools coming soon

By Michael Beaven Published: September 16, 2013

It is looking like the Suburban League will have 16 total schools with two divisions of eight schools in the near future.

Barberton, Kent Roosevelt and North Royalton have each said they will join the league.

“We have accepted the invitation to join the Suburban League,” Barberton Athletic Director Rob Culbertson said Monday. “We are going to make a more formal statement when the expansion process is finalized by the Suburban League.”

Culbertson said Barberton will remain independent, and then rejoin the Suburban League for the 2015-2016 school year.

Kent Roosevelt said it would be leaving the Portage Trail Conference Metro Division  and joining the Suburban League via an email Saturday, and North Royalton also reportedly said it will join the Suburban League.

Commissioner Keith Walker said the new Suburban League should be finalized by the end of September.

“The schools that we invited to join when we divided it up into eight and eight are for the big school division North Royalton, Brecksville-Broadview Heights, Cuyahoga Falls, Stow, Hudson and Twinsburg to go along with Nordonia and Wadsworth, and for the small school division Aurora, Barberton and Kent Roosevelt to go along with Copley, Cloverleaf, Highland, Tallmadge and Revere,” Walker said.

Green announced in August it was leaving the Suburban League and joining the Federal League for the 2015-2016 school year.



Prev Next

High school news, features and notes