☰ Menu

Bettinger, Peters help Indiana Wesleyan win Division II NAIA national basketball title

By Michael Beaven Published: March 19, 2014

Former area high school players DJ Bettinger and Bob Peters helped guide the Indiana Wesleyan University men’s basketball team to a 78-68 victory over Midland (Neb.) 78-68 in the 2014 Division II NAIA national championship game Tuesday night.

Bettinger, a 2011 Revere High School graduate, started and did not score in the championship game at Keeter Gymnasium in Point Lookout, Missouri. Peters, a 2013 Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academt graduate, played as a reserve and scored five points.

The Wildcats won all five of their tournament games by double digits, which is a first for any team in the NAIA Division II Tournament since its inception in 1992.

Senior guard Jordan Weidner was named the 2014 Championship Outstanding Player for his performance over the past five games. Weidner scored 21 in the final and averaged 23.0 points per game in Point Lookout while shooting 51.4 percent from the field. He also averaged 5.6 assists and 4.4 rebounds in the tournament.

Bettinger, a 5-foot-11 junior guard and Richfield native, played in all 37 games for Indiana Wesleyan and made 36 starts. He averaged 8.6 points and 2.3 rebounds in 21.7 minutes per game this season. He also had 58 assists, 34 steals and four blocks.

Peters, a 6-foot-2 freshman guard and Cuyahoga Falls native, played in 36 game for Indiana Wesleyan and made one start. He averaged 8.8 points and 2.6 rebounds in 25.1 minutes per game this season. He also had 77 assists, 41 steals and 12 blocks.

Weidner averaged 18.9 points for the season. Senior forward RJ Mahurin scored 19 in the final and finished the season at 18.1 points per game. Freshman forward Lane Mahurin scored 11 points in the final and junior guard Zac Vandewater added 10 points.

Lane Mahurin was honored with the NAIA Championship Hustle Award while Indiana Wesleyan’s Greg Tonagel was named the NABC/NAIA Division II Coach of the Year. The Wildcats also earned the Dr. James Naismith/Emil Liston Team Sportsmanship Award.



Prev Next

High school news, features and notes