☰ Menu

City Series girls basketball postseason championship set for Thursday night

By Michael Beaven Published: February 12, 2014

City Series girls basketball postseason championship scouting report

Teams: Firestone (14-6, 12-0) vs. Kenmore (13-8, 9-3)

When: 7 p.m. Thursday.

Where: Ellet High School.

Coaches: Audley McGill of Firestone and Yontami Jones of Kenmore.

This season’s results: The Falcons defeated the Cardinals twice in the regular season and won the regular-season percentage title. Firestone won the first meeting at home 58-36 on Dec. 5 and the second meeting 58-56 at Kenmore on Jan. 16.

Notebook: Firestone features junior forward Darian Carter, a talented 5-foot-10 scorer and rebounder who is generating interest from colleges. Yolanda Sims, Destini Turner and Ashley Phillips are key seniors in the Falcons lineup. Juniors Ashley Ingram, D’Von Williams, Mycheala Holley and Sara VanNewkirk also figure prominently with freshmen Savannah Blackwell and Taryn Williams. Kenmore is led by senior Whiauanna Jeffries and sophomores Q’deare Dix and Sarah Taylor. Junior Marshae Smith, senior Shannon Hall and junior Autumn Mitchell also play consistent minutes for the Cardinals, who have been without junior Casey McCormick all season due to a knee injury.

History: Joe Howard, the Akron Public Schools Program Manager of Interscholastic Athletics, said the City Series girls basketball playoff championship game started in 1972. Firestone and Kenmore have combined to win every City Series postseason title since 2001. The Falcons won their first league postseason title in 1998 and then won seven in a row from 2001 to 2007. The Cardinals won the league postseason title in 2008 and 2009, and then the Falcons won in 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013. Overall, Firestone has won or shared nine regular-season league titles, including eight of the past 12. Kenmore has won or shared nine regular-season league titles and earned five league postseason titles. Buchtel has won or shared the most regular-season league titles with 14, including 11 in a row in 1980-1990. The Falcons have the most league postseason titles with 12. The Griffins are second on the list with 10.

— Michael Beaven



Prev Next

High school news, features and notes