☰ Menu

Cloverleaf set to leave SL, join PTC in 2015-2016

By Michael Beaven Published: December 17, 2013

Cloverleaf High School will leave the leave Suburban League and join Portage Trail Conference for athletics in the 2015-2016 school year, says Suburban league Commissioner Keith Walker.

Walker said the Suburban League is seeking to add one school to the expanded conference, which is set to have 16 total schools divided into two, eight-school divisions in 2015-2016.

“Cloverleaf is moving leagues,” Walker said. “Their board voted last night to join the PTC. We’re looking for someone to replace them.”

The big school portion of the Suburban League is set to have Nordonia, Wadsworth, Cuyahoga Falls, Hudson, Stow, Twinsburg, North Royalton and Brecksville-Broadview Heights.

The small school portion of the Suburban League is set to have Copley, Highland, Revere, Tallmadge, Barberton, Kent Roosevelt and Aurora.

“We will look at other schools and see what is out there,” Walker said. “In a perfect world we would like to add a school with an enrollment between Tallmadge and Barberton.”

Cloverleaf is the second Suburban League member to say it is leaving this year following Green’s decision to move to the Federal League in 2015-2016.

The PTC currently has 14 league members, but Kent Roosevelt will be departing for the Suburban League in 2015-2016.

The PTC Metro Division currently features Coventry, Crestwood, Field, Kent Roosevelt, Norton, Ravenna and Springfield.

The PTC County Division currently features Garrettsville, Mogadore, Rootstown, Southeast, Streetsboro, Waterloo and Woodridge.

East Canton and Windham recently left the PTC in 2013. East Canton joined the Inter-Valley Conference and Windham is in the Northeastern Athletic Conference.

Green will be in the Federal League with Canton McKinley, GlenOak, Jackson, Lake, North Canton Hoover and Perry.

Check back to and the Akron Beacon Journal for more on this story.



Prev Next

High school news, features and notes