☰ Menu

Football: 2017 Division & Region Breakdown

By Michael Beaven Published: June 7, 2017

… Football Divisional Breakdown …

+ The Akron-area will have eight teams in Division I in 2017 – Canton McKinley, Jackson, Strongsville, GlenOak, Stow and Perry in Region 1, and Brunswick and Medina in Region 2. Perry was the Division II state runner ups in 2015 and 2016 to Cincinnati La Salle, which remains in Division II for this upcoming season. Cleveland St. Ignatius, Lakewood St. Edward, Solon, Mentor and Austintown Fitch are also in Region 1.

+ Archbishop Hoban, which won Division III state championships in 2015 and 2016, has moved up to Division II and is assigned to Region 5 along with Ellet, Firestone, Brecksville, Hudson, Cuyahoga Falls, Walsh Jesuit, Twinsburg, Green, Barberton, Nordonia, Copley and Kent Roosevelt. Bedford, Warren Harding, Cleveland Benedictine and Mentor Lake Catholic are also in Region 5. North Royalton, Wadsworth and Highland are in a Region 6 that includes Midview, Toledo St. Francis De Sales, Toledo St. John’s Jesuit and Perrysburg. Region 7 features North Canton Hoover, Massillon, Lake, Wooster, Westerville South and Boardman.

+ The new Kenmore-Garfield will likely be a Division II, Region 5 football team in 2017. The OHSAA will determine the placement of the merged school in September when enrollment figures are figured out.

+ St. Vincent-St. Mary, a Division III football state champion in 2012 and 2013, will remain in Division III and is assigned to Region 9 along with North, East, Buchtel, Buckeye, Cloverleaf, Aurora, Ravenna, Alliance, Louisville, Marlington, Coventry, Revere, Norton, Tallmadge, Springfield and Woodridge. Chardon Notre Dame-Cathedral Latin and Warren Howland are also in Region 9.

+ Division IV, Region 13 will include Streetsboro, Field, Southeast, Northwest, Canton South, Minerva and CVCA.

+ Canton Central Catholic will remain in Division V where it won a state title in 2016. The Crusaders are assigned o Region 17 along with Manchester, Orrville, Tuslaw, Triway, Fairless, Crestwood, Chippewa and Northwestern.

+ Smithville, Mogadore, Rootstown, Norwayne, Waynedale and Waterloo are among the teams in Division VI, Region 21.

+ Division VII, Region 25 will include Rittman, St. Thomas Aquinas, Windham, East Canton and Dalton.

– Michael Beaven



Prev Next

High school news, features and notes