☰ Menu

Perry wins 10th consecutive Federal wrestling title

By mikeb Published: January 31, 2008

The Perry wrestling team won its 10th consecutive Federal League wrestling championship by defeating rival Lake 43-21 on Thursday night at Perry.

The Panthers (8-1, 6-0) won 10 matches and the Blue Streaks (14-1, 5-1) won four matches.

Junior Joe Lyons (103 pounds), senior Dan Genetin (130) and junior Andrew Phillips (171) each won by pin to lead Perry. Junior defending state champion Sam White won by major decision over junior state placer Scott Mattingly in a 125 pound match.

Sophomore Nick Hannon (112), junior Nick Heflin (160) and senior Tyler Solenthaler (189) also won by major decision for Perry. Panthers juniors Mike Hillock (119), Seth Horner (135) and Brandon Clemens (152) won by decision.

Lake received wins from Jared Lijoi (140), Chad Rhoades (145), Tyler Rasho (215) and Ryan Jones (285)



Prev Next

High school news, features and notes