☰ Menu

State wrestling: Championship bouts primer

By jcfortun Published: March 6, 2010



DI CHAMPION: Dean Heil, St. Edward
DII CHAMPION: Ryan Taylor, St. Paris Graham
DIII CHAMPION: Nathan Tomasello, CVCA

Division III: First: Brian Spangler, Keystone, versus Nathan Tomasello, CVCA
Match to watch:
Division I: Dean Heil, St. Edward; versus Jack Young, Mentor,



DI CHAMPION: Kory Mines, Maple Heights
DII CHAMPION: BJ Miller, Defiance
DIII CHAMPION: Alex Dronzek, Beachwood

Division I: Mitch Newhouse, Perry, versus Kory Mines, Maple Heights.

Note: Huge win for Wadsworth in the fifth place final (Every win is huge at this point). The Grizzlies went 0-3 in the consolation semifinals, but Alfredo Gray Started Wadsworth’s consolation finals off with a win this morning over St. Edward freshman Edgar Bright. While Gray was battling in overtime though, St. Edward heavyweight Greg Kuhar, picked up an overtime pin to advance to the third place final. Kuhar eventually lost in the third round, but picked up seven points with the pin.



DI CHAMPION: Jerome Robinson, St. Ignatius
DII CHAMPION: Ty Mitch, Aurora three-time state champion
DIII CHAMPION: Hunter Steiber, Monroeville

Division I: Jerome Robinson, Cleveland St. Ignatius, versus Kagan Squire, Wadsworth
Division II: Ty Mitch (119) Aurora versus Nick Brascetta, St. Paris Graham


DI CHAMPION: Gus Sako, St. Edward
DII CHAMPION: Johnni DiJulius, Walsh Jesuit
DIII CHAMPION: Logan Steiber, Monroeville four-time champion

Division II: Johnni DiJulius (125) Walsh Jesuit versus Drew Stone, Oak Harbor
Division I match to watch: Jake McCombs, Marysville, versus Gus Sako, St. Edward

Note: Sako should win, but every Wadsworth or St. Edward match will be watched closely for team points.


DI CHAMPION: Jamie Clark, St. Edward three-time champion
DII CHAMPION: Bo Jordan, St. Paris Graham
DIII CHAMPION: Johnny Matacic, Jackson-Milton

Division I match to watch: Jamie Clark, St. Edward versus Kodie Egnor, Elyria

Note: Once again, the team point factor.


DI CHAMPION: Louden Gordon,

Gordon, leading 5-4, connected on a hip toss to put Martin on his back for a pin as time expired.

DII CHAMPION: Isaac Jordan, St. Paris Graham

DIII CHAMPION: Payton Oney, Greenwich S. Central

Division I: Louden Gordon, Wadsworth versus Mark Martin, St. Edward
Division II: Dan Mirman (135) Medina Highland versus Isaac Jordan, St. Paris Graham

Note: the first of two finals match ups between Wadsworth and St. Edward. A rematch of last weekend’s district championship at Ashland, Gordon won 10-8 last week.

Division I: Shane Foster, Perry, versus Randy languis, Dublin Scioto.

Division I: Brad Squire, Wadsworth,
versus Anthony Salupo, St. Edward.

Note: Another rematch of last week. Squire won last week.

Division I: Waquiem Comar, Twinsburg,
versus David Habat, St. Ignatius

Division III: Dennis Raber (160) Orrville versus Nick leforce, Carlisle
Division I match to watch: Josh Linden, Brecksville-Broadview Heights, versus Nick Sulzer, St. Edward.

Division I:
Josh Demas, Westerville North, versus Sam Wheeler, Copley
Division III: Alex Utley (171) CVCA versus Chris Phillips, Monroeville

Note: Wheeler is undefeated, but, unfortunately, Demas is that good. Same could be said about Phillips.

Division I: Nick Miller, Centerville, versus Caleb Busson; Wadsworth

Note: While St. Edward dominates the middle weights, Wadsworth dominates the heavies and it starts with Busson.

Division I: Kyle Rose, Centerville, versus Nick Tavanello, Wadsworth
Division III: Justin Schafrath (215) Chippewa, versus Ethan Hayes, New Labanon Dixie

Note: Schafrath is the first state finalist in the history at Chippewa. He could be a first champion too.

Division I: Ben Buzzelli (Wadsworth)
versus Billy Vaughan (Brecksville-Broadview Heights.)

Note: Buzzelli has faced Vaughan for both the district and sectional title. Vaughan won both matches. If a state team title comes down to this match, a lot of the Wadsworth faithful will be holding their breath.



Prev Next

High school news, features and notes