☰ Menu

Touchdown Club set to hold winter sports banquet April 22

By Michael Beaven Published: April 11, 2013

The annual Touchdown Club Winter Sports Banquet is set for April 22 at Guy’s Party Center in Akron.

Ed Kalail said the festivities will begin at 6:30 p.m. and over 130 student-athletes and coaches will be honored. Tickets are $30 and can be ordered by contacting Jill Hanigofsky at 330-848-8946.

Athletes will be honored in basketball, wrestling, swimming, diving, bowling and gymnastics. Also being honored are the year’s four scholarship winners.

The following athletes were selected as Players of the Year:

Boys Basketball – Bob Peters of Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy and Matt Knight of Windham.

Girls Basketball – Ashley Morrissette of Twinsburg, Allison Howard of Aurora and Shayna White of Southeast.

Wrestling – Nathan Tomasello of Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy, J.J. Diven of Waterloo, Travis Linton of Rootstown, Aaron Adkins of St. Vincent-St. Mary and Jake Moore of Rootstown.

Swimming – Katie Miller of Firestone, Mark Belanger of Firestone, Andrew Appleby of Cuyahoga Falls and Ross Palazzo of Hudson.

Diving – Stephen Romanik of Nordonia, Alex Obendorf of Hudson and Kailey Francetic of Walsh Jesuit.

Bowling – Anna Brigham of Garrettsville and Dylan Montgomery, Ravenna.

Gymnastics – Maddie Brandt of Cloverleaf.

The following coaches were selected as Coaches of the Year:

Boys Basketball – Jay Peters of Cuyahoga Valley Christian Academy and Marty Hill of Windham.

Girls Basketball – Julie Solis of Twinsburg and Bob Dunn of Southeast.

Wrestling – Anthony Gary of St. Vincent-St. Mary and Craig Wise of Rootstown.

The following athletes were selected as $1,000 scholarship winners:

Joe Chadbourne of Firestone, Nicole Hadler of Highland, Matthew Knight of Windham and Amanda Sollenberger of St. Vincent-St. Mary.

Add This



Prev Next

High school news, features and notes