☰ Menu

Wadsworth leads after consie championships

By jcfortun Published: March 6, 2010

Wadsworth holds a 154 to 149.5 lead over St. Edward after the conclusion of the consolation finals.

The Grizzlies went 2-4 over the two round consolation finals. Sophomore Alfredo Gray (112) beat St. Edward freshman Edgar Bright 2-1 in an overtime tiebreaker. Gray placed fifth in the state. Bright finished sixth.

Sheldon Brandenburg (160) finished fifth too.

Junior Nate Ball finished sixth at 140.

St. Edward had two wrestlers compete in the consolations this morning. Sophomore heavyweight Greg Kuhar picked up an overtime pin in his first match to give his team seven points, but he was unable to win the third place final, dropping to fourth overall.

Each school has six wrestlers going in tonight's finals.

St. Edward Finalists:
Dean Heil (103)
Gus Sako (125)
Jamie Clark (130)
Mark Martin (135)
Anthony Salupo (145)
Nick Sulzer (160)

Wadsworth finalists:
Kagan Squire (119)
Louden Gordon (135)
Brad Squire (145)
Caleb Busson (189)
Nick Tavanello (215)
Ben Buzzelli (285)

Other Local DI finalists:

Perry: Mitch Newhouse (112), Shane Foster (140)
Twinsburg: Waquiem Comar (152)
Copley: Sam Wheeler (171)

Other Area DI placers:
Brandon Bucknell (285) Twinsburg
Fourth: Matt Hammer (130) Medina
Seventh: Teddy Hammer (152) Medina, Chet Bissell (160) Twinsburg
Eighth: Mike Griffith(112), Medina, Tanner Lemon (145) Massillon Perry, Josh Erb (160) Lake, Nick Rajcsak (285) Stow

Division II

Local finalists:

Aurora: Ty Mitch (119)

Walsh Jesuit: Johnni DiJulius (125)

West Branch: Jake Mellinger (130)

Highland: Dan Mirman (135)

Other DII placers:

Area Third Place

103: Cory Stainbrook, Streetsboro
112: Ryan Cash, Aurora
130: Nate Skonieczny, Cuy. Falls Walsh Jesuit
135: Randy Henline, Akron Coventry
171: Cody Lamberg, Akron Kenmore
215: Joe Poyser, Louisville
285: Mike Rutherford, Norton

Area Fourth place:
Mike Rix, Akron St. Vin.-St. Mary

Area  Fifth Place
112: Joey Morris, Canton South
152: Cody Ryba, Mantua Crestwood

Area Seventh Place Finals
130: T.J. Fox, Mogadore Field
140: Mitchel Porter, Mantua Crestwood
145: Joe Schindel, Akron Arch. Hoban
152: Randy Carpenter, Ravenna
160: Adam Kluk, Medina Highland
189: Joe Henderson, Louisville

Area Eighth place
125: Jordan Westfall, Norton
152: Tyler Bloniak, Medina Highland
189: Joey Monroe, Mantua Crestwood

Division III

Area finalists:

CVCA: Nathan Tomasello (103), Alex Utley (171)

Orrville: Dennis Raber (160)

Chippewa: Justin Schafrath (215)

Third Place:
135: Zak Vargo, CVCA

Fourth place:
160: Bryson Hall, Doylestown Chippewa
189: Jonathon Beam, Apple Creek Waynedale
285: Kyle Kelly, Akron Manchester

Fifth Place:
130: Shane Brown, Akron Manchester
145: Brandon Sommers, CVCA

Eighth place:

135: Justin Petersheim, Apple Creek Waynedale
160: Matt Meadows, CVCA



  • Main Blog Promo
  • Browns Blog Promo
  • Indians Blog Promo
  • Beer Blog Promo
  • Fracking Blog Promo
  • High School Blog Promo
  • Zips Blog Promo
  • Akron Dish Food Blog
Prev Next

High school news, features and notes