☰ Menu

Wooster, Mount Union advance to NCAA Division III Baseball Tournament

By Michael Beaven Published: May 13, 2013

The College of Wooster and University of Mount Union baseball teams have advanced to the NCAA Division III Baseball Tournament and will play in the same regional.

Wooster is the No. 3 seed and Mount Union is the No. 8 seed at the NCAA Division III Mideast Baseball Regional hosted by Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology in Terre Haute, Ind.

The Fighting Scots (32-10) will play No. 6 seed Thomas More (29-14), a school from Kentucky, at 4:30 Wednesday. The Purple Raiders (23-16) will play No. 1 seed Manchester (35-5-1), a school from Indiana, at 1:15 Wednesday.

The regional is a double-elimination tournament.

Mount Union won its second ever Ohio Athletic Conference Baseball Tournament title with a 5-4 win over Otterbein on Saturday night at Don Schaly Stadium in Marietta. The Purple Raiders previous conference title came in 1970.

Raiders outfielder Ricky Olasz went 3-for-4 in the victory with three RBI and had seven hits for the tournament to be named Dick Fishbaugh Most Valuable Player. Pitchers Gino Ceriani and Ryan Sason were also named to the All-Tournament team with infielders Lee Grosscup (Green graduate), infielder Sean Mohney (Cloverleaf) and outfielder Justin Jakubik.

Wooster defeated Allegheny College 18-6 on Friday at V.A. Memorial Stadium in Chillicothe for its second consecutive North Coast Athletic Conference championship and 15th all-time.

Scots outfielder Jarrod Mancine earned tournament MVP honors, posting a .733 on-base percentage as the team’s leadoff hitter. He went 6-for-10 at bat with four walks and a hit by pitch. Joining him on the all-tournament team were outfielder Zac Mathie (West Holmes) infielder Cal Thomay and pitcher Keenan White.

Akron-area players for Wooster are: Mathie, Jake Zeek (Dalton), John McLain (Northwestern), Craig Day (Waynedale), Brendan Taylor (Archbishop Hoban), Ian Vernier (St. Thomas Aquinas), Mike Ries (Field), Zach Woullard (Jackson) and Anthony Ciocca (Nordonia).

Akron-area players for Mount Union are: Grosscup, Mohney, Ben Atkinson (Carrollton), Connor Mathis (Firestone), Brad Fogle (Barberton), Evan Knott (GlenOak), Neal Greenho (North Canton Hoover), Derek Frye (Tallmadge), Jeff Bennett (Lake), Jeff Polen (GlenOak), Ryker Locke (Minerva), Tom Bekelesky (Firestone), Tyler Simcox (Ellet) and Wes Kemp (Lake).





Prev Next

High school news, features and notes