☰ Menu

Business news briefs — March 20


New ATM technology

Diebold’s newest automated teller machine doesn’t accept debit and credit cards or PINs.

Instead, the new ATM solely uses what is called “mobile authentication” that requires a smartphone, the Green company reported. Consumers scan what is called a QR code at the ATM using their smartphone as a means to safely identify themselves. The new ATM debuted at the Diebold Federal Credit Union. Because the ATM does not use cards or PINs, the machine eliminates the threat of card-skimmers and what are called “shoulder surfing” thefts. The new cardless ATM technology, with everything managed via the cloud, was inspired by younger customers known as the millennial generation, Diebold said.


Cartwright leaves board

Former Bowling Green and Kent State University President Carol A. Cartwright will retire from FirstEnergy Corp.’s board of directors as of May 20. Cartwright has been a FirstEnergy director for 22 years. She first joined the Ohio Edison board of directors in 1992. She became part of FirstEnergy’s board when the company was formed in 1997 through the merger of Ohio Edison and Centerior Energy Corp. Cartwright retired in 2011 after nearly three years as president of Bowling Green State University. She previously was Kent State’s president for 15 years. FirstEnergy’s board has 14 members.


AVID Technologies sold

Twinsburg-based engineering design services firm AVID Technologies Inc. is being bought by Premier Farnell, a U.K.-based high-end global electronics distributor.

The price is $13 million, according to the purchase agreement. AVID’s approximately 50 employees will continue to work out of the company’s offices in Twinsburg. Privately owned AVID was founded in 1985.

The acquisition gives Premier Farnell new design services, tools and more in the industrial control and automation, defense, aerospace, medical, automotive and wirelesss communications markets.


New directors elected

The Greater Akron Chamber elected new members to its board of directors at the organization’s annual meeting Thursday evening at the John S. Knight Center.

The new board members are:

• Ken Babby, owner and chief executive officer, Akron RubberDucks.

• Mark Cohen, publisher, Akron Beacon Journal/

• Steven Charles, vice president product development, Bridgestone Americas.

• Paul Fitzhenry, senior vice president, global communications, Goodyear Tire and Rubber Co.

• Joseph M. Gingo, president and chief executive officer, A. Schulman Inc.

• Martin P. Hauser, chief executive officer, SummaCare/chief government relations officer-Summa Health System.

• Para M. Jones, president, Stark State College.

• John K. Krajewski, managing partner, Stark & Knoll LPA.

• Stephen M. Kristan, director of external affairs, AT&T.

• Kyle Kutuchief, director of development, Austen BioInnovation Institute in Akron, representing the group called Torchbearers.

University of Akron President Luis M. Proenza was presented the 10th H. Peter Burg Award. The meeting’s sponsors were highlighted by Northeast Ohio Medical University, the University of Akron, Brouse McDowell, Southwest and Akron-Canton Airport, and CBIZ Mayer Hoffman McCann. Huntington Bank was the print sponsor.

Compiled from staff and wire reports


Prev Next
  • Main Blog Promo
  • Cavs Blog Promo
  • Browns Blog Promo
  • Indians Blog Promo
  • Beer Blog Promo
  • Fracking Blog Promo
  • High School Blog Promo
  • Zips Blog Promo
  • Akron Dish Food Blog
Prev Next