Beacon Journal wire services
AUGUSTA, Ga.: Tiger Woods got a bad break Friday in the second round of the Masters when his approach shot to the 15th green bounced off the flagstick and into the water.
He also took a bad drop, leading to a 2-stroke penalty that was levied on Saturday morning.
Woods was not disqualified because of a relatively recent rule that allows the rules committee discretion when it comes to violations reported after the fact. Masters officials reviewed the drop on Saturday morning, applying the revision to “Decision 33-7/4.5”, which, according to the USGA’s website, addresses “the situation where a player is not aware he has breached a Rule because of facts that he did not know and could not reasonably have discovered prior to returning his score card.
“Under this revised decision and at the discretion of the Committee, the player still receives the penalty associated with the breach of the underlying Rule, but is not disqualified.”
The penalty knocked Woods from 3 shots to 5 behind leader Jason Day.